A shining Nickel

Ñèñòåìàèçì
Medvedev Dmitriy: http://www.proza.ru/2013/04/10/1481


In one wallet, lived a Nickel. It was a brand new coin, which, after once falling into the small change pocket, never since left its place of residence. The Nickel was very proud of is status “quo” and shone proudly before the other coins. Metal money of varying value never stayed long, and the glittering Nickel welcomed happily each new guest, telling them how much he’s valued and never given away.

But one day, in came a dented and scratched Dollar coin. The Nickel started mocking and sneering, telling it to look at itself and be ashamed for being so negligent. Besides, it said, who’d ever need you? You’ll be out from the wallet by tomorrow, because only the best get to stay here. For which, the Dollar replied:

“My looks are a result of my constant service for the mankind. And you’re pretty, but useless nowadays.”

“Look at the nose-up attitude!” The Nickel grew indignant. “For I lived so long in this wallet, and seen so many of your sort. You’re not the one to tell me, you loose change. I’m a five, and you’re a one, so I’m much more valued here, so much that they save me…

The Nickel kept on going for a long while, while his opponent didn’t say another word. At the next day, without a word of objection, and without losing its dignity, the Dollar has left the wallet, to the unending yells of the self-centered Nickel:

“I’m worth twenty times than you are!”