Parable 2. Cobblestones

Ìàðèíà Äàâòÿí
 
A deeply religious and very affluent man, also a prominent philanthropist known throughout the city for his good deeds to help the needy, woke up one morning and felt his death approaching. He went to church, knelt down and addressed God:
“Lord! I am ready to depart into the afterworld; I accept your will.”
Suddenly he hears the voice of God:
“My son! I know your deeds: hospitals and churches, schools and orphanages, all of which you have built for the people. I am ready to fulfill one request of yours. Speak!”
He thought about it for a moment and said:
“Lord! I know that we all come into this world and go into the afterworld empty-handed. If you allow it, however, I’ll take one valise with me.”
“I’ll allow it,” God replied.
The man returned and divided all his possessions into three parts:
one part as inheritance for his children, one part for charity; and the third part he turned into gold bars. After putting the bullion in his valise and instructing his children to place it in his coffin with him, he died a few days later.
Soon he is standing at the Gates of Paradise, waiting his turn. He comes to the Gates, and the Apostle Peter asks:
“Servant of God! What did you bring with you?”
“The Lord gave me permission...”
“I know that the Lord gave you permission. But what’s inside?”
“The last offering to our Lord,” – he opens the valise.
“And, what is our Lord to do with your cobblestones?”
No sooner had the apostle said it, than he turned around to see... all the streets of Paradise were lined with gold bars...