Äíåâíèê Ñóìàñøåäøåãî 1420

Âëàäèìèð Ñâåòàøåâ
12860

I’d like to begin this note with a quote from Schopenhauer’s essay “On Philosophy in the Universities.” By the way, now, reading the essay for the second time after almost eight years have been passed, I can see how strongly it influenced me throughout these years.

So here is the quote: “They will regard you as one who has not entered the spirit of the game and thus threatens to spoil the fun for all of them; consequently, they will regard you as their common enemy and antagonist.”

What Schopenhauer did for philosophy, I’m currently doing for linguistics, which is, roughly speaking, another form of philosophy. It’s been four years since I fully committed myself to my English studies. Like Schopenhauer, I got there from a totally different world. He was a merchant who found his way into science through the marketplace, took it close to his heart and fully dedicated himself to studying. Having no background, no wonder he had been rejected and ignored for decades by professors of philosophy and academics, not to mention the crowd. This made him unbelievably powerful; he got absolute freedom of speech and, being one of the most powerful men of his time, built a system of thought that may be an equivalent to the Egyptian pyramids.

Now, one more quote, and I’m going to make a video. “All this is only a scene from the play which we have before us at all times and in all arts and sciences, that is to say, the old conflict between those who live for the cause and those who live by it, or between those who are it and those who represent it.”

Back: http://proza.ru/2023/05/11/810
Next: http://proza.ru/2023/05/13/979