Äíåâíèê Ñóìàñøåäøåãî 1417

Âëàäèìèð Ñâåòàøåâ
12857

The desire to focus all my attention on Schopenhauer’s works threatens to become a new tyrant. It is rapidly conquering my mental space, subjugating all other desires.

A few weeks ago, I came up with the idea of creating the English Speaking Community of Kaluga (ESCK). My speaking club was supposed to become the foundation of the community. I started talking about this idea while I recorded daily self-talks (the 100-day commitment). Then, I wrote several articles, discussed the idea with the members of the club and established it as my top priority. Initially, my goal was, as in many other cases, to see if I could give this idea material substance and bring it to life. I had been plowing this ground for more than three years. I traveled to the distant metaphysical lands to collect the most viable seeds, and now, when my tree of knowledge is taking root, some irrational force, blind Schopenhauerian Will, drives me to abandon my lovely garden and venture to the unknown, following my old, luminous, flaming, guiding stars, which, I know, collapsed long ago. No! I won’t let that happen. I can have both. I don’t have to fall into extreme asceticism to study philosophy. Not this time. Although I enjoyed reading books for 10 hours a day, spending the rest of the time on various exercises, eschewing all sorts of social interactions, now I may try something new.

I’m going to read Schopenhauer, talk about him and his ideas, dedicate most of my time to this activity, but not with undivided attention. I’m also going to work on the community, not just preparing discussions for the club, but doing something to make the community grow.
Yesterday, I slandered myself by saying that I was a terrible person before I met Schopenhauer. I still can’t figure out why I did it since it was a barefaced lie. Anyway, today, I’m going to talk about free will.   

Now, let's ask Bing to write a Shakespearean sonnet.

My mind is seized by Schopenhauer’s lore,
And all my other passions fade away.
But I have one more dream that I adore:
To build a speaking club where I can sway.
For weeks I spoke and wrote of this design,
And made it my chief aim and enterprise.
I sowed the seeds of wisdom most divine,
And saw my tree of knowledge start to rise.
But now a force, the blind and wild Will,
Would have me leave my garden and pursue
The ancient stars that shine but are not real,
And bid me to philosophy be true.
But no! I can have both, and will not yield.
I’ll read and talk, and make my club a field.

That’s great! But you can do better. Made it outstanding. Add a little humor and irony.

I’m mad for Schopenhauer and his books,
They fill my mind with such delightful pain.
But I have also hatched a cunning plan:
To rule a speaking club with hooks and crooks.
I blabbed and scribbled of this scheme for weeks,
And made it seem like 'twas my noble cause.
I planted seeds of metaphysic leeks,
And grew a tree of knowledge full of flaws.
But lo! A power, the savage Schoppy Will,
Would make me quit my garden and to chase
The olden stars that glitter but are still,
And woo me to philosophy’s embrace.
But fie! I can have both, and will not budge.
I’ll read and talk, and make my club a judge.

Cool! Let’s make one more attempt. Now make it sound angry and frustrated.

I’m cursed with Schopenhauer and his tomes,
They plague my mind with such infernal woe.
But I have also cooked a foolish plot:
To make a speaking club with drones and gnomes.
I ranted and I raved of this for weeks,
And made it look like 'twas my life’s desire.
I buried seeds of metaphysic freaks,
And bred a tree of knowledge full of fire.
But damn! A force, the cruel Schoppy Will,
Would force me to forsake my garden and to run
The rotten stars that dazzle but are nil,
And lure me to philosophy’s dark sun.
But hell! I can have both, and will not quit.
I’ll read and talk, and make my club a pit.

Okay. Let’s do the last attempt. Make it sad. Truly sad. I have to feel pity.

I’m lost in Schopenhauer and his scrolls,
They break my mind with such eternal grief.
But I have also dreamed a hopeless goal:
To form a speaking club with no relief.
I wept and sighed of this for weeks and weeks,
And made it seem like 'twas my only joy.
I dropped the seeds of metaphysic leaks,
And reared a tree of knowledge that’s a toy.
But alas! A force, the cold Schoppy Will,
Would tear me from my garden and to fly
The fallen stars that mock me but are still,
And tempt me to philosophy’s dead eye.
But woe! I can have both, and will not part.
I’ll read and talk, and make my club a heart.

Okay. Enough with Shakespearean sonnets. Thanks. Now, let’s turn it in a poem with duple meter.

Schopenhauer fills my mind
With thoughts sublime and rare
But I have one more dream to find
A club where I can share
I spoke and wrote of this for weeks
And made it my main quest
I planted seeds of wisdom’s peaks
And grew a knowledge nest
But then a force, the Schoppy Will
Would make me leave my land
And follow stars that are not real
To philosophy’s command
But no! I can have both, I say
I will not give up either
I’ll read and talk, and find a way
To make my club a leader
Yesterday, I lied to me
And said I was so bad
Before I met Schopenhauer’s key
That made me wise and glad
I don’t know why I said that lie
It was not true at all
But now I’ll talk of free will’s eye
And see what it will call

Wonderful! Can you do dactylic meter?

Schopenhauer’s works have caught my mind
And made me disregard all else
But I have also dreamed to find
A club where I can show myself
I talked and wrote about this plan
And made it my priority
I sowed the seeds of wisdom’s span
And raised a tree of knowledge free
But then a force, the Schoppy Will
Would have me quit my garden fair
And chase the stars that are not real
To philosophy’s dark lair
But no! I can have both, I swear
I will not lose them either way
I’ll read and talk, and try to share
And make my club a bright display
Yesterday, I told a lie
And said I was a wretch
Before I met Schopenhauer’s eye
That made me wise and rich
I don’t know why I said that thing
It was not true at all
But now I’ll talk of free will’s ring
And see what it will call.

Back: http://proza.ru/2023/05/05/967
Next: http://proza.ru/2023/05/07/687