Äíåâíèê Ñóìàñøåäøåãî 1408

Âëàäèìèð Ñâåòàøåâ
12848

Recently, when I read wikipedia’s articles related to the concept of status, I stumbled upon Max Weber’s definition of power. According to him, it’s the ability to do what one wants regardless of other people’s intentions. Now, I wanna expand the meaning of this definition, adding a component without which it feels incomplete. Doing what one wants is not enough; the factual power comes with the subjective awareness that what one does is the best compared to the results of everyone who did the same before. What determines “the best” is another question, which I’m not gonna dive into here. A fool who has never read a great book in his life may write a few hundred pages of wordy crap and consider himself the best writer. Among his peers who have never written anything in their lives and haven’t read great books, this fool may be viewed as the best writer. He is gonna hold a comparatively high status in society. Another fool, who dedicated his life to studying literature, may also write a few hundred pages of wordy crap. The difference is that, knowing the power of great books, he is less likely to be deluded by his own mind taking seriously what he has written.

Damn it! I was supposed to write about the ESCK to prepare for a self-talk. How did this power anxiety break my intention? I’m thinking about the ESCK too much. There was noise again this night. I have to find a way to slow down without losing my daily writing and this 100-day commitment. Tomorrow, I have my “first” training session at the gym. Let’s try to balance the ESCK and AMA (Amateur Martial Arts).

Back: http://proza.ru/2023/04/26/1199
Next: http://proza.ru/2023/04/28/984