Äíåâíèê Ñóìàñøåäøåãî 1398

Âëàäèìèð Ñâåòàøåâ
12838

Tomorrow, I have to build a conversation on the topic of labor. This week, I’ve spent very little time studying the topic. I’m gonna study it today. I’m gonna read a few articles on wikipedia about wage labor, manual labor and work.

I dedicated my speaking exercise to explaining such concepts like characteristics of communication, functions of communication and five axioms of communication from the book Communication Works. On the one hand, I wanna study the book to improve my communication skills, but, on the other hand, I feel quite stupid whenever I retell this academic crap. All these concepts are dull; they have very little to do with real communication. They cover lots of formalities; all of them look rational and logically coherent, so it’s hard to argue against their usefulness; however, there is no power, no vitality, in these concepts. I compromise myself as a philosopher while talking about them. I have no interest whatsoever in sharing these concepts with anybody. Is it just about looking smart in front of an audience? “Look, guys, I’m studying communication; it helps me have better relationships with people; it makes me more effective at social interactions; it allows me to understand myself and others…” This is odd! I feel as if I were a schoolboy who did something just to get approval from his servile teachers.
 
I watch brilliant lectures by Shelly Kagan and Wes Cecil. I read Shakespeare. Why the hell am I not talking about that? Why do I put on this bloody mask of a damn educator?

Back: http://proza.ru/2023/04/13/976
Next: http://proza.ru/2023/04/15/707