Äíåâíèê Ñóìàñøåäøåãî 1385

Âëàäèìèð Ñâåòàøåâ
12823

One of the things that may significantly improve any relationship is the study of communication. Yesterday, I was thinking a lot about the elements of communication from the book “Communication Work”. I had a meeting with X. On the way to this meeting, I indulged in an imaginary conversation, trying to figure out how to present the ideas from the book at my upcoming speaking club. The “conversation” went awesome. I was able to render a short explanation of every element, tying them to our usual interactions. When I talked about people as senders and receivers, I pointed out that those who sat without saying anything were still communicating something. Okay, now I see that describing it here in detail doesn’t make a lot of sense.

I thought about people, messages, channels, noise, context, feedback and effect. Then I met X and we went for a walk. When we parted, I got back to thinking about those elements in the context of our interaction. It was quite interesting. I decided to analyze every conversation by applying what I’ve learned from the book.

People: X and I.

I talked about my current activities, trying to put into words the experience I recently had. I also tried to explain to him the terror management theory, which I read about in “Denial of Death”.
 
He talked about his experience: problems with his leg, thoughts on the pandemic, capitalism, his work.

Noise. It was cold. He walked slowly, which was uncomfortable for me. I had to speak Russian.

Context. Casual, friendly talk with no specific purpose.

Feedback. Internal: 80% positive. External: 95% positive.

Effect. Emotional: positive. Cognitive: made me think deeper about interactions with people.

Back: http://proza.ru/2023/03/30/1136
Next: http://proza.ru/2023/04/02/926