Technical Progress

Âåðà Âåðèíà 3
My employment started with the lowest job in a big design engineering institute.  Engineers wrote projects, typists typed on typewriters. Our job was to compare the original with the printed material and check if everything is correct, correct printed errors.
Perhaps, because I have read a lot or by some other reasons my mind spots mistakes instantly and easy. I did work very fast compared to others. Then I’ve read my books. There was female team of older uneducated women with different kinds of “discussion each other” , not satisfying with each other behavior and so on.
I was 20 yo with different mentality a” black sheep” and the boss gave me hard time for not being obedient and standing out from the team. I went to department director and asked him to find me another job.
Just at that time the photolab boss had a big need in a couple of hands to help out. As he used to say later, he not only got two hands, but also a head to boot.  We worked great together till he retired. Another boss came and it did not work out.

Eventually I found myself in a small company. Somehow I don’t even remember what they did there, but once in 3 weeks the result of their work was put in a little brochure. Little publishing department did that work. I was there as a photographer with a small photolab. In that lab I did big negative for brochure cover. page. I did that in s small dark room. There was a huge machine with spinning surface, where I attached aluminum form and watered it with special watered it with a special emulsion from a small watering can. Spinning wheel made it even. I made the emulsion myself. Then, with the help of the negative, passing through the contact apparatus, it received the form for printing the cover page
Summer time the temperature outside was around 50 degrees. No air-conditioning at that time. I think we used only fans. Not sure, but for sure in that dark small room with working hot machine it was a real hell.
The good part was that it happened once in 3 weeks.
Comparing with nowadays what a huge technical progress happened during my life.