Теодор Рётке. В сумерках

Татьяна Александринская
В ночное время лучше видит глаз;
Я в сумерках встречаю робко тень,
И в гулкой чаще эхо слышно мне –
Ведёт, на древе плача, свой рассказ.
Меж цаплей и крапивником живя,
Со зверем и змеёй обрёл связь я.

Безумие – не духа ль глубина,
Что против обстоятельств? День за днём!..
Я вижу свет в отчаянье своём;
Тень крепко держит влажная стена.
То место среди скал – пещера, грот,
Тропинка? За собой меня ведёт.
 
Поток неясных отзвуков велик!
Ночные птицы, рваный свет луны;
То день, то ночь, и меж собой равны!
Узнать желаем истинный свой лик,
Себя теряя в ночь без сна и слёз,
Где сложным мы сочтём простой вопрос.

Желания мои темней, чем свет;
Душа, как муха, от жары без сил,
Жужжит в тиши. Кто я, себя спросил?
Я – падший человек – ищу ответ:
Покинул страх, в ум тихо вкрался Бог –
Свободен я, но Он со мною строг.


Theodore Roethke
(1908-1963)

In A Dark Time

In a dark time, the eye begins to see,
I meet my shadow in the deepening shade;
I hear my echo in the echoing wood –
A lord of nature weeping to a tree,
I live between the heron and the wren,
Beasts of the hill and serpents of the den.

What's madness but nobility of soul
At odds with circumstance? The day's on fire!
I know the purity of pure despair,
My shadow pinned against a sweating wall,
That place among the rocks – is it a cave,
Or winding path? The edge is what I have.

A steady storm of correspondences!
A night flowing with birds, a ragged moon,
And in broad day the midnight come again!
A man goes far to find out what he is –
Death of the self in a long, tearless night,
All natural shapes blazing unnatural light.

Dark,dark my light, and darker my desire.
My soul, like some heat-maddened summer fly,
Keeps buzzing at the sill. Which I is I?
A fallen man, I climb out of my fear.
The mind enters itself, and God the mind,
And one is One, free in the tearing wind.