Five hundred little pigs

Светлана Бабетта
There had been nothing distinctive in the letter,
She had written.
It had been a mere request for an appointment,
with no hint of what lay behind the request.
It had been brief and business-like
Only the firmness of the handwriting had indicated
that Babe Etta was a youg woman.


She sat down and accepted the cigarette that he offered her
(внутренний голос сказал ей, что курить вредно, но она не послушалась
и продолжала..)
After it was lit she sat for a minute or two (внутренний голос перешёл на шёпот:
Курить Вредно!) ..... smoking!!!
(упрямишься! ты у меня получишь!)
still looking at him with that earnest thoughtful gaze
(ты ещё знаешь слово scrutiny)

Her Po said gently: It has to be decided, does it not?

You are making up your mind, are you not,
whether I am a mere mountebank, or the man you need?

She smiled. She said: Well, yes - something of that kind.

You see, M.Po, you don't look exactly the way I pictured you.

She hesitated. I'm being frank, you see. I want - I've got to have - the best

Rest assured, said Her Po. I Am the Best!

Babe said: You're not modest. All the same. I'm inclined to take you at your word.

PO said placidly: One does not, you know, employ merely the muscles.
I do not need to bend and measure the footprints and pick up the cigarette ends and examine the bent blades of grass. It is enough for me to sit back in my chair and Think. It is this - he tapped his egg-shaped head - THIS that functions!

I know, said Babe That's why I've come to you.
I want you, you see, to do something fantastic!

That, said Her Po, promises well!

He looked at her in encouragement.

Babe drew a deep breath.

My name , she said, isn't Babe. It's Medeya. The same as my mother's.
I was called after her. She paused. And though I,ve always gone by the name of Etta
- my real name is Eve.

Her Po's forehead creased a moment perplexidly. He murmured.
Eve - Eve - I seem to remember..

She said: My Father was Lord - a well known Lord. Some people say he was a great Lord. I think he was.

Her face was very white now and her eyes two burning lights.

to be continuated