The Mischievous One in the Ocean

Алла Валько
There is a harbor seal sanctuary on the Pacific coast of the United States, in Carpinteria, next to the pier where boats ply between the coast and oil-producing platforms. People come to this high coast all year round to look at the sea animals lying below. They are the attraction of this Californian nook. The entrance to the beach, where they rest, is closed to visitors for most of the year. The animals lie on the sand taking a nap or basking on the rocks, but sometimes you can see them swimming in the ocean, where they are very graceful. On land, these streamlined brown-gray or black giants move awkwardly, rearranging their front flippers or leaning on both when they want to move faster. Seagulls and pelicans strut around them.

Once I was slowly wandering along the beach,  about two kilometers from the sanctuary and moving further away. Oncoming waves left a bizarre curve dividing the yellow sand into two parts: wet and dense, and dry, rather unsteady, where your feet get stuck. Therefore, I preferred walking on the wet sand to avoid encountering the ocean wave. Overlooking the beach were charming private cottages and hotels, surrounded by vibrant tropical flowers, shrubs, and trees. They are protected from large waves and high tides by a ridge of boulders stretching along the beach.

Suddenly it seemed to me that I saw a round and smooth head of a seal above the water. I was surprised because I had never seen seals leave the reserve and swim so far beyond their "habitation zone". Though, at first I thought, it was long curled-up seaweed, brought to the shore by a wave, but, as I came closer, I saw clearly – it was a seal's head. Soon I became worried, as it was apparent that the animal was in trouble: the oncoming wave ruthlessly pushed the animal straight to the shore. Finally, at the last moment, the seal seemed to be able to turn towards the ocean, but the next wave drove him back to the coast.

I was getting closer and closer to the suffering creature, and my heart sank with pity for the animal in distress. How did it get here? I did not know what to do. Despite having my mobile phone with me, I doubted if I could call the rescue team and explain what was happening in English. I continued to walk along the coast, keeping an eye on the animal's unsuccessful attempts to swim into the ocean. I remembered stories of how the ocean washed up whales and other marine animals. At some point, it seemed to me that the seal  resisted the waves and swam about fifteen meters along the coast, already beyond the surf line. I was happy.

Then, my attention was caught by two birds, desperately fighting in the air: a black crow and a turtledove. I looked closely and realized that the three times smaller turtledove courageously and decisively beats off the crow. There was something to be surprised at! In the end, the turtledove's efforts were crowned with success, and the crow gave up, sinking to the sand, and the turtledove flew back towards cottages. After that, as if plucking its anger, the crow fiercely hammered something with its beak. But, apparently, the bird failed and soon flew away, and a small undefeated black crab quickly ran across the sand.

I looked towards the ocean again and saw that the wave carrying the seal back to the ocean. And then a crazy thought flashed through my mind: what if the animal was playing, frolicking, riding the waves, like boys on surfboards do? Each time it approached the shore and moved away from it, my guess was confirmed. Wow! A mischievous one in the ocean! "Well" – I thought. "No one is looking for it?" At that moment, a boat appeared in the ocean, far from the coast. I was glad, having decided that the caretakers of the reserve were looking for the fugitive. I did not know how to get their attention and show that the animal was nearby. And then I saw that the boat approached the coastline, and the people went ashore. Apparently, the seal did not interest them at all.

In the meantime, I reached the edge of the beach and noticed two fishermen, one of whom was waving his arms. I looked around to see who he was waving to, but there was no one behind. Then I understood – he was greeting me. Coming closer, I recognized the worker of our association, Kelly, a large woman, weathered by the winds and burnt by the sun, a jack of all trades, who, in fact, did all-male affairs at work.

I rushed to her, asking questions: "Kelly! What does all this mean? A seal swam out away of the reserve? I thought it was in trouble, but it turned out that the animal was just frolicking on the waves! Why was it here? And why are they not looking for it?"
 
Kelly, always calm and unperturbed, explained, "Don't worry. Everything is fine. This is not a harbor seal but a sea lion. Look, it has a different nose, and it is already leaving for the ocean, to the island. Sea lions live there. And this playful one is often here. When there is no one near the coast but me, I see it as close as you now."

The sea lion was indeed already out of sight.

Translated by Yulia Doronina.
Edited by Alicia Mitchell and Alla Valko.