Inventor kazuo hashimoto - my bust of him for the

Ãðèãîðèé Ãóðåâè÷
G, clay, than plaster and finally, bronze bust of Japanese - American inventor, KAZUO HASHIMOTO, one of the most prolific inventors of United States, who was born in Japan, studied in  the New Jersey Institut of Technology in Newark, New Jersey and created in California his own computer and communication company “INTEL”.

His most popular inventions were: “CALLER ID” and “UNSWERUNG NACHINE”, but he had more than 1000 patented inventions in field of communication. While he was in Tokio Hospital, diagnosed with cancer, NJIT contucted me to execute his bronze bust for the entrance to the Library of NJIT.
I received many of his family small photos, from his student years, up to photos, when he already was in the Tokio Hospital.

Unfortunately, I had no chance to meet him personally. My goal was to come up with a symbolical image of his personality. All photos were very small and of different age. There were no photos of his back of the head, but sculpture is a three - dimensional object, so I had a problem, being worried not make my sculpture looking like him.

To my luck, when his portrait was almost ready, his partner, Daniel Henderson, flew to Newark from California, came over to my studio and with his verbal corrections, in half hour, I finished a portrait.
Wax negative from a plaster and bronze cust was done in “EXCALIBER FOUNDRY”, near Brooklin Brugge in Brooklyn, New York. Granit pedestal was constructed by my sketch in NJ marble company in Rahway, and brass plate was Ingraved in Newark, New Jersey. Wife of Kazuo Hashimoto came to the opening of his bust to New Jersey Institute of Technology,

Kazuo Hashimoto donated one million dollars to built Hall of Fame on the property of NJ I T and I made a model for the competition, but, unfortunately, while I was driving, car hit a bump in the road and broke my plaster piece.
Three months later, I brought this broken sculpture home and discarded it. It was no chance to repair it.

Grigory Gurevich
Copyright, August 10, 2022, Sopron,