81-90

Валери Жаклин
      Сонет 81. William Shakespeare

 
                Перевод Ирины Жуковой-Каменских

      
Иль я тебе надгробный стих сложу,
Иль ты склонишься над моей могилой,
Но строки эти нас переживут -
В них будет вечно жив твой образ милый;
         
Бессмертие ты обретёшь в стихах,
А  я уйду , безвестный и забытый,
В простой могиле будет тлеть  мой прах -
Тебя почтят гробницею открытой;
               
Твой памятник - мой нежный звучный  стих,
Кто ныне не рождён - его услышит,
Тебя прославит будущий язык,
Когда уйдут все те, кто рядом дышат;
   
Ты вечно будешь жив в строке моей -
Живым дыханьем на устах людей.



       Sonnet 81

             by William Shakespeare

Or shall I live your epitaph to make,
Or you survive when I in earth am rotten,
From hence your memory death cannot take,
Although in me each part will be forgotten.
Your name from hence immortal life shall have,
Though I (once gone) to all the world must die;
The earth can yield me but a common grave,
When you intombd in mens eyes shall lie:
Your monument shall be my gentle verse,
Which eyes not yet created shall o'er-read,
And tongues to be your being shall rehearse,
When all the breathers of this world are dead;
You still shall live (such virtue hath my pen)
Where breath most breathes, even in the mouths of men.
*****************
        Сонет 82. William Shakespeare

               Перевод Ирины Жуковой-Каменских

      
Ты с музою моей не обручён,
Поэтому легко, без сожаленья
Ты смотришь на хвалебный, льстивый тон,
Любимый ныне в книжных посвященьях;
      
Прекрасен ты - и мыслью, и красой,
И ты решил: моих похвал ты выше,
И больше подойдёт поэт другой,
Дух времени который лучше слышит;
   
Пусть так, любовь моя; в других стихах
Хвала родится в творческих дебатах,
Но истина - одна: в простых словах,
Надёжным другом сказанных когда-то;
   
Для бледных щёк сгодятся их прикрасы:
В тебе ж довольно яркости и красок.



     Sonnet 82
 
           by William Shakespeare


I grant thou wert not married to my Muse,
And therefore mayst without attaint o'erlook
The dedicated words which writers use
Of their fair subjects, blessing every book.
Thou art as fair in knowledge as in hue,
Finding thy worth a limit past my praise,
And therefore art inforced to seek anew
Some fresher stamp of the time-bettering days.
And do so, love; yet when they have devised
What straind touches rhetoric can lend,
Thou, truly fair, wert truly sympathised
In true plain words by the true-telling friend;
And their gross painting might be better used
Where cheeks need blood; in thee it is abused.
******************
      Сонет 83. William Shakespeare

               Перевод Ирины Жуковой-Каменских



Не знал в тебе я к живописи страсть,
На ярмарке твоей подделок нет:
Ты выше  пышных и хвалебных фраз,
Что пишет призванный тобой поэт;
         
И если я хвалою пренебрёг,
То это для того, чтобы ты сам
Представить миру светлый образ мог,
Оставив лесть досужую певцам;
   
Молчание, как грех, вменил ты мне,
Но  был несправедливым этот суд:
Молчание даст жизни красоте,
Слова других к могиле приведут;
            
В одном твоём глазу сиянье света
Не в силах описать и два поэта.


           Sonnet 83

               by William Shakespeare


I never saw that you did painting need,
And therefore to your fair no painting set;
I found (or thought I found) you did exceed
The barren tender of a poet's debt:
And therefore have I slept in your report,
That you yourself, being extant, well might show
How far a modern quill doth come too short,
Speaking of worth, what worth in you doth grow.
This silence for my sin you did impute,
Which shall be most my glory, being dumb,
For I impair not beauty, being mute,
When others would give life, and bring a tomb.
There lives more life in one of your fair eyes
Than both your poets can in praise devise.
**************
       Сонет 84. William Shakespeare

               Перевод Ирины Жуковой-Каменских


            
Кто лучшие слова найти сумеет,
Чем эта фраза: "ты есть только ты",
Когда краса твоя над всем довлеет,
И нет примера равной красоты?
      
Поэта скудное перо порою
И капли славы  в образ не внесёт,
Но тот, кто назовёт тебя - тобою,
Среди поэтов славу обретёт;

Всё то, что было создано природой,
Он занесёт искусно в твой портрет,
И твой двойник пребудет в славе годы,
За ум и стиль прославится поэт;

Но с льстивым восхваленьем  не шути -
Преградой встанет на твоём пути.


           Sonnet 84

                by William Shakespeare

Who is it that says most which can say more
Than this rich praise -- that you alone are you,
In whose confine immurd is the store
Which should example where your equal grew?
Lean penury within that pen doth dwell
That to his subject lends not some small glory,
But he that writes of you, if he can tell
That you are you, so dignifies his story:
Let him but copy what in you is writ,
Not making worse what nature made so clear,
And such a counterpart shall fame his wit,
Making his style admird every where.
You to your beauteous blessings add a curse,
Being fond of praise, which makes your praises worse.
***************
      Сонет 85. William Shakespeare

               Перевод Ирины Жуковой-Каменских


Затих моей безмолвной музы глас,
Когда другие музы так шумят,
И в честь твою потоки пышных фраз
Златым пером упрочить норовят;
      
Я мысленно тебя боготворю,
Другие говорят об этом вслух,
"Аминь" - как дьяк,  я гимну воздаю,
В котором восхищают стиль и дух;
   
Когда я слышу дружный хор похвал,
Твержу: "Да-да! Всё так! Поверьте мне!",
И  в мыслях  добавляю я слова,
Что полны чувства, к лучшей похвале;
      
Цени других за трепетность стихов,
Меня - за мысли, что сильнее слов.




        Sonnet 85

              by William Shakespeare


My tongue-tied Muse in manners holds her still,
While comments of your praise, richly compiled,
Reserve their character with golden quill
And precious phrase by all the Muses filed.
I think good thoughts, whilst other write good words,
And like unlettered clerk still cry 'Amen'
To every hymn that every spirit affords
In polished form of well-refind pen.
Hearing you praised, I say, ''Tis so, 'tis true',
And to the most of praise add something more;
But that is in my thought, whose love to you
(Though words come hindmost) holds his rank before.
Then others for the breath of words respect,
Me for my dumb thoughts, speaking in effect.
*****************
  Сонет 86. William Shakespeare

               Перевод Ирины Жуковой-Каменских*


               * По мнению части комментаторов, здесь содержится
               намек на Чапмена, якобы утверждавшего,
               что его учил писать дух Гомера.


Его ль стихи, как гордое ветрило,
К тебе стремятся взять бесценный приз ,
Лишив мои стихи и мысли силы,
Замкнув во чреве -там, где родились;
      
Его ль талант, ведомый тёмной тенью,
Который дух  неведомый взрастил,
Украв мои огонь и вдохновенье,
Моих стихов рожденье запретил?
      
О, нет, ни он, ни дух его пристрастный,
Кто  вносит лепту знаний в звучный стих,
К молчанию поэта не причастны:
Пленён я не был страхом из-за них;
   
Когда ж в стихах его один твой лик,
Лишился я материи и сник.


       Sonnet 86

             by William Shakespeare

Was it the proud full sail of his great verse,
Bound for the prize of all-too-precious you,
That did my ripe thoughts in my brain inhearse,
Making their tomb the womb wherein they grew?
Was it his spirit, by spirits taught to write
Above a mortal pitch, that struck me dead?
No, neither he, nor his compeers by night
Giving him aid, my verse astonishd.
He, nor that affable familiar ghost
Which nightly gulls him with intelligence,
As victors, of my silence cannot boast;
I was not sick of any fear from thence;
But when your countenance filled up his line,
Then lacked I matter, that infeebled mine.
**************
Сонет 87. William Shakespeare

               Перевод Ирины Жуковой-Каменских*



Прощай, ты слишком дорог для владенья,
Себе определил ты цену сам,
Ты празднуешь своё   освобожденье,
А я  нанёс урон своим правам;
         
Ну, как владеть тобой без позволенья,
Чем оправдать дары, что принимал?
Достоинств нет во мне, и вот - решенье:
Патент закрыт; вернул я всё, что взял;

Ты мне себя дарил, цены не зная,
Меня не по заслугам оценил,
Теперь, переоценку совершая,
Ты  все права  свои восстановил;
      
Тобой владел я как мечтою лестной:
Король - во сне, что отдал королевство.

         Sonnet 87

             by William Shakespeare

Farewell, thou art too dear for my possessing,
And like enough thou know'st thy estimate:
The charter of thy worth gives thee releasing;
My bonds in thee are all determinate.
For how do I hold thee but by thy granting,
And for that riches where is my deserving?
The cause of this fair gift in me is wanting,
And so my patent back again is swerving.
Thy self thou gav'st, thy own worth then not knowing,
Or me, to whom thou gav'st it, else mistaking;
So thy great gift, upon misprision growing,
Comes home again, on better judgement making.
Thus have I had thee as a dream doth flatter,
In sleep a king, but waking no such matter.
****************
Сонет 88. William Shakespeare

               Перевод Ирины Жуковой-Каменских

      
Когда решишься сжечь меня в огне
И наградить невиданным презреньем,
Я на твоей останусь стороне,
Хоть ты отмечен  клятвопреступленьем;
         
Своим порокам знаю точный счёт,
Смогу их положить в историй главы,
Тогда разрыв наш пользу принесёт:
Обласкан будешь ты лучами славы;
      
И мне - выигрыш, хоть и не мечтал:
Мои все мысли заняты тобою,
И, если боль, что я себе наслал,
Тебе - во благо, благо мне  - двойное;
         
О, друг мой, такова любовь моя:
Чтоб прав был ты, терплю обиды я.


         Sonnet 88

                by William Shakespeare


When thou shalt be disposed to set me light,
And place my merit in the eye of scorn,
Upon thy side against myself I'll fight,
And prove thee virtuous, though thou art forsworn:
With mine own weakness being best acquainted,
Upon thy part I can set down a story
Of faults concealed wherein I am attainted,
That thou in losing me shall win much glory;
And I by this will be a gainer too,
For, bending all my loving thoughts on thee,
The injuries that to myself I do,
Doing thee vantage, double vantage me.
Such is my love, to thee I so belong,
That for thy right myself will bear all wrong.
******************
 Сонет 89. William Shakespeare

               Перевод Ирины Жуковой-Каменских

      

Оставлен я тобой, и в том повинен -
Твои слова я буду подтверждать;
Скажи мне, что хромой я, и отныне
Хромаю я, не смея возражать;
      
Разрыв стремясь представить благородно,
Найти не сможешь подходящих слов:
Я сам себя ославлю, как угодно,
Знакомство скрою, стать чужим - готов;
   
В твоих местах не появлюсь случайно.,
И имя сладкое не стану повторять,
Чтоб вдруг, по простоте нарушив тайну,
Не смог огласке нашу связь предать;
         
Себя в одном пытаюсь победить:
Кого ты ненавидишь - не любить.



        Sonnet 89
 
                by William Shakespeare


Say that thou didst forsake me for some fault,
And I will comment upon that offence;
Speak of my lameness, and I straight will halt,
Against thy reasons making no defence.
Thou canst not (love) disgrace me half so ill,
To set a form upon desird change,
As I'll myself disgrace, knowing thy will:
I will acquaintance strangle and look strange,
Be absent from thy walks, and in my tongue
Thy sweet belovd name no more shall dwell,
Lest I (too much profane) should do it wrong,
And haply of our old acquaintance tell.
For thee, against myself I'll vow debate,
For I must ne'er love him whom thou dost hate.
******************
Сонет 90. William Shakespeare

               Перевод Ирины Жуковой-Каменских



Что ж, если отвернёшься, так теперь,
Когда весь мир со мной в борьбе жестокой,
Не будь моей последней из потерь,
Когда не станет сил сражаться с роком;
            
И если боль сумею превозмочь,
Уйди, и не затягивай прощанье,
Пусть бурная бушующая ночь
Не сменится дождливым расставаньем;
   
Не будь последним горем в череде
Невзгод, что делают меня слабее,
Уйди сейчас  - когда большой беде
Взглянуть в глаза бесстрашно я сумею;
      
Мне горе не покажется бедой
В сравнении с разлукою с тобой.

     Sonnet 90

             by William Shakespeare



Then hate me when thou wilt, if ever, now
Now while the world is bent my deeds to cross,
Join with the spite of Fortune, make me bow,
And do not drop in for an after-loss.
Ah do not, when my heart has scaped this sorrow,
Come in the rearward of a conquered woe;
Give not a windy night a rainy morrow,
To linger out a purposed overthrow.
If thou wilt leave me*, do not leave me last,
When other petty griefs have done their spite,
But in the onset come; so shall I taste
At first the very worst of Fortune's might;
And other strains of woe, which now seem woe,
Compared with loss of thee, will not seem so.
         *****************