A Memorable Vacation at Myrtle Âeach

Ðàèñà Ðàáèíîâè÷
A Memorable Vacation at  Myrtle  Âeach

Do you like the circus? Of course, some will answer. Especially when you go there with your children, you observe the performances, you rejoice and laugh (if there are funny performances), become anxious about the acrobats, and be touched when watching the performances of animals of all kinds and breeds. The jugglers and illusionists demonstrate their skills! A miracle! A fairy tale!
And there are clowns, dressed in bright colored clothes, which seem at first glance ridiculous! And  their  jokes, over which all the people are laughing, their scenes, copying performances, with fake tears. Everyone is watching, without taking their eyes off, into the arena. Unless  they are chewing popcorn or eating cotton candy. Everyone is dressed their best (at least, in the Soviet Union), and in America, they put on their best T-shirts with silly inscriptions and blue jeans. How? It's a special day! Not every city has its own circus building, not all Americans have the opportunity to see, and sometimes even participate in, the performance. And tickets are affordable! Here we are—this is a circus!
And in our big family  we have many different types of artists.

Firstly, we have Marina, the wife of our youngest son.  She plays the classical guitar remarkably and can perfectly teach this to her students. Marina performs at concerts and delivers to viewers and listeners the enjoyment of her playing.

Our grandchildren, Kevin and Daniel, are illusionists and jugglers. Kevin skillfully changes programs in the  computer, and can help with any computer problem from afar.
He also plays the piano magnificently!

Daniel can create a beautiful illusion on any topic. On the eve of the presidential election, he created a utopian dream—to become president of America! Although, who knows? What if?
We can even put on a motorcycle show! Just as good as the bikers, rolling around the streets and dispersing passers-by! So, who will ride the breeze? Do not worry! I will!
We have our own excellent trainers. "Up"—and Sam the dog runs away! And he returns when he wants to!
                Welcome to our circus!


But I do not adore the circus. When our children were small, my husband  and I took them to all the programs that just appeared in our city. We saw all sorts of attractions and shows! I was not captured by the spectacle when aerial acrobats were flying under the dome of the circus; the only thing that happened was my heart froze, and I felt scared for the athletes. Clowns did not make me laugh, but only made me pity. I felt sorry for the animals, and the trainer, too. In general, I was not too anxious to see a circus show in America.

But one day, during a holiday on the ocean, with our eldest  son  and our two grandchildren, we saw an advertisement of a circus coming. My husband had been an amateur of exciting spectacles and invited the children to attend this event. I refused immediately, but went along to get the tickets.

My   son, too, was not interested in the spectacle. Therefore, he and I decided to take a walk along the embankment, while our family had fun. And so we did.
 Husband   and the grandchildren went to the show, and son and I made a promenade. I must say that on this street there are always a lot of people who buy all sorts of souvenirs and just have fun at attractions, go and, as they say, show  off  themselves  and look at others. After a whole day spent on the beach, their skin was tanned (and for some, burned). Everyone was  trying  to  put  on a light clothes to show their tan. How beautiful!

And so we were walking around the shops, restaurants and bars. We felt like wealthy people who let themselves to rest in a resort. Cool!
The weather is wonderful, the sun shines, and there is only pleasure!

I've never really been into alcohol. I tried to remember at least one case, where I was intoxicated.
 When  others visit our house, at the birthdays of relatives and on holidays, there is always wine and vodka on the table. I sip a little, not filling the glass. Husband does the same. In my youth, of course, I drank a little more.
OK, now everything is clear. It's time to tell about the embarrassment that happened to me.
So, son and I were walking along the embankment. We were gazing around, and then I saw a sign saying, “Bar.” I suddenly remembered that I had never   visited   such   an  place. I asked my son: "Take me to the bar, please." Son agreed.
 We sat down by the counter on the high chairs. I looked around with pride and curiosity; people were drinking things from tall glasses, talking very comfortably. He invited me to drink an alcoholic cocktail, explaining that there is a very small percentage of alcohol, and I will not feel anything.
 I gladly tried and drank the whole  cocktail, my son was surprised and offered me one more. I tried it, and then took a glass of it (there was a mixture with vodka). I do not remember how many drinks I had. We stayed in this crappy place for a long time. Then we again strolled along the street.
 Our mood was fine, and I was very glad that I had the opportunity to once again communicate with my eldest son. He decided to go to one store, and I stayed on the street. It was already dark. The lights turned on.  But   not everywhere.
 I looked around myself, noticed something strange. I come  closer, I see a fountain with blue water. And in the water there are two - a girl and next to her a black man. I indignantly said out loud (in pure Russian, to an American!): "Are you crazy? You are standing in water knee-deep, your pants and shoes are wet. How will you go home?” And he, like a deaf-mute, did not answer and did not even look in my direction. And again, I appealed to him: “Are you that deaf? Or do you not understand Russian?”
       “Tom!” I exclaimed (remember, like in Mark Twain). There  was      no  answer. And then, silence in response to my clever      It was       very offensive! I went closer.
My God! It was a monument! And the guy in the jacket could not answer me in any language. Son approached, I told him about my embarrassment,  we laughed. And then my son told me, “Mother, you should drink less!” I will remember this.
And the other day husband and I were back in the same place. He photographed this fountain, its inhabitants, and me with the condition that I wrote about. I did it!
After that funny situation I never drank a lot of alcohol. In that funny story at Myrtle Beach, I felt like I was a clown in the circus.
The other day we were back at the same place. Husband photographed this fountain and its inhabitants, and said me that I must write story about what had happened.