The Brazilian shoes

Ðàèñà Ðàáèíîâè÷
     Today, a person can’t go to the street without the shoes. It is nice if you are walking on the beach and you going to the ocean barefoot. But you must have looking good shoes when you are working! It is wonderful!

But my story with Brazilian shoes was sad! The story was such.

In 1980, years it was very hard to buy (to get) a good pair of shoes. On top of that, my size made it even harder to get. I had to walk in unfashionable, wide shoes and only to dream of beautiful shoes and boots. I had even gone to Moscow to buy other clothes and products, but I could not find a suitable pair.

A few days ago, I decided to go to the big department store in the centre of my town and to buy new shoes for me. When I came in the salesman spoke to another customer. I had to wait for ten minutes and used this opportunity to look at the
shoes displayed for sale. How nice they were! Splendid! Different colors, a lot of options…I hope I can get a pair for myself! So help me God!

I tried on brown leather shoes and understood that they are a little small for me. I asked the salesman to give me another pair. He couldn`t find a larger size in brown because this model was very popular. They sold a lot of shoes of this type this month.

Several minutes later, the salesman asked me to try on different kind shoes of a different model. The size was also not right for me. I was going to home without new shoes! Oh, bother!

And here I got great news: my aunt Anna living in Canada had sent us a package. When I opened it, I was overjoyed. Wow! There were the most beautiful brown leather shoes, just my size! Everyone in my family was happy. The shoes were stylish and even imported—Brazilian! What do I do?! I wore them for the whole evening, I cannot get over them! And next day, of course, I put them on before I went to my job at school.

The first two lessons passed with my students’ euphoric of my shoes. All of them were happy for me, and they congratulated me. Probably, they had grown tired of looking at the ugly shoes of their favorite teacher. For a few lessons, I took a rest from the cheering, and then, once again, began teaching. Also I felt very strange. It was very unusual for such a class to be dead silent.

 Children should behave naturally and perceive material with audible understanding. But what happened with my dull kids? In the class, there was silence, and the students’ heads were all turned towards me.
 I like to walk around the classroom to check up and see how well the students are learning the material. Inside, notebooks, things were as usual, but there was something unusual! I looked closer: all of the students were looking at my new shoes. But I have already got used to this extra attention and curiosity. On the seat, I furtively began to consider a new shoe.

 And: Oh my God! I saw that my big toe got out and was rudely sticking out! Terrible! After that, I did not rise from my seat again during that class. But there was one more class to teach that day! I hardly waited for the bell during my last class. I sat and did not move. The kids looked at my legs, but did not say anything to me. And I became more terrified as all of my other toes began slowly falling out of their shoes!

After the end of school day, I went home quietly, in a bad mood. I was slipping on my shoes as if they were skis! I was tense and jumpy. I hate you, new
                Brazilian shoes!

When I came home, I put the new, not-nice looking shoes in the trash can! It is, for you, the right place! When I threw them, I was thinking,
“Yes, happiness is to not have Brazilian shoes!”

I talked to my friends, who informed me, that, most likely, the shoes were bought in a shop for deceased people; those people don’t need to go to school! My, my!

I was thinking that this sad note would finish this story. But, it was not at all!

My husband read the story and laughed, because he remembered these ill-fated shoes. A few days later, we had to go on business. I dressed up, did my makeup, and chose which clothes I would go in. I only had to choose shoes that fit my outfit. I saw these shoes (see photo above), which could be worn for this occasion. I did so. But a woman does not immediately leave the house without looking at herself and not admiring her own beauty. By the way, Marina really loves our big mirror, claiming that it slims her. But I'm not so flattered. In general, I saw something strange on my feet. I stepped away and almost fell, my shoes tripping on the carpet. What happened? I took off my beautiful shoes and saw that the sole was tearing off! That evening, I photographed this "beauty." I saw that the shoes were made in China.
So what shoes do you need to buy?