Juliа

Пол Фил
Мы виделись с Батыром один раз в жизни. В Барнаульской филармонии минут пять постояли на втором этаже у окна и перекинулись парой слов о красоте города. И все. Потом я узнал о его смерти, через много лет. Был обескуражен и, позже, потрясен. Песня "Джулия" уже тогда была мною переведена на английский.


Julia

1.
The girlie of my early days,
My queen of beauty, charm and grace,
The one I saw home,
Then roamed the streets, alone…
Fast forward to the final grade,
And, as the party songs were played,
I did realize that you might have been the one.
But things were getting freaking worse
And, in the whole Universe,
You started afresh thousands of miles away.
You’ve got your lifestyle rearranged,
The name of yours has slightly changed -
Why should I recall how hopelessly used to call?    
 
R-n: Julie, Julia

2.
Your number that I’m not aware (of)
You wouldn’t even have to share -
won't try to call, we’d better forget it all…
I hardly know your whereabouts
And that’s what I can do without, 
I won’t ever write, although I have lots to say…
The old illusion’s now dispelled,
This ice won’t never ever melt,
We’re parted for good,
We cannot reverse the route.
This is a reminiscent thing,
The name of yours that sorrow brings,
But nevertheless
I will be repeating this: Julia…

Rn: Julie, Julia