Friends 12

Надя Бирру
- Because if a wild monkey grabs a crystal ball in its paws, then the ball will inevitably be broken, and the monkey will injure its paws... at least.

- Is it me a monkey?

- Well, I'm sorry, this is a free comparison to clarify the essence of the problem, although... there is some rational grain in this image. Well, do you remember yourself - without hesitation, to achieve momentary success, rush off a cliff, risking your life and hers?!

- I risked nothing. I'm an acrobat, forget? I can fall, and I preliminary estimated the level of danger - no more than two or three scratches. But I felt that she loved me! And if, as I now know, it was once in my life, yes, I’m ready to risk anything to feel it! Such minutes are not forgettable!

- Understood. Cool down.

- I will not cool down, do not even hope! - for a minute they looked into each other's eyes without a word. How much there was in this look that it was impossible to express in words - love and bitterness, pain and joy, and happiness from the fact that they love the same woman and understand each other in the way that only a few souls are given to understand each other on the Earth...

- Well, and the third night? - Vasily broke the silence at last.

- The third? .. It was a night in Mendeleevo, when I asked Marina to become my wife, and she agreed to go with me on the expedition. A month later we got married, two weeks later we left, and only then...

- Okay, I'm a wild monkey, and you? You completely selfishly ripped her off from the institute and took her to the place she knew nothing about!

- Here you are wrong, old man! Marina turned out to be a very valuable employee, her business qualities and practical advises are beyond praise. Moreover, the presence of such a woman brightened up our harsh reality. For me, all these three years flew by like a honeymoon!.. For her, for the flourishing of her personality and talent, it was also very useful. I watched her carefully from the first minute of our acquaintance. You intrigued me with your letters about her...

- Ah, damn it, those letters!

- It was an escape into the desert for the sake of self-learning, for her and me, for the sake of our relationship based on a deep inner connection, the ability to feel each other at a distance. This connection exists, it is reality.

- I know.

Vladimir closed his eyes for a second to hide the interest that had flared up in them. So this is true, it means there is really something going on between them two...