Friends 4

Íàäÿ Áèððó
- Tell me about her, about the way you see her.

- You know, Vasily, to be frank, Marina as a wife is just a kind of joke. It's difficult with her. And if I wanted to be only a husband in the generally accepted sense of the word, I would not stand it. But our relationship is built on a different principle, we are, rather, friends and partners, and I look at many things not like other men. Marina is a creative person. Creativity is a special path, as they say, through hardships to the stars... Well, you know this even better than me. Sometimes this is painful, first of all, for her. The main thing for me is to be near, to help, to protect. And make sure that her genius would not be evil. She has one self-portrait, "Triptych" is called...

- I saw... the catalog of the exhibition was brought to us.

- Ah, well, then you understand what I mean. Here you have both an angel and a demon, and in the middle is a human. So, she is rarely a human. We always have to maneuver between creative crises and ups. Yes, here are also my frequent business trips, then I am at the training camp, other time she is somewhere. Together we decided not to go. When one is around, he worries more. And one doesn't look good in the mountains, she doesn't want to, in a word. So, generally speaking, we don't spend that much time together... I'm always missing her.

“And in bed she’s superb,” Vasily said unexpectedly.

Vladimir looked at him sharply, barely refraining from asking. There were things that he was not going to discuss. But Vasily continued as if the question had asked:

- I always knew that. You are well versed in your tests, tubes and instruments, and I am well versed in women. I found her! And you - brazenly scribbled. By the way, if there was nothing between you, as you say, then why all this fuss? After all, all of ours took up arms against her. Even Sergey, her best male-friend, did not speak to her for almost two months! Were you out of your mind, huh?

- No, we were not. She asked for help. She said: I'm afraid of him. And one more thing: it was your own mistake that you started dating her best friend. Marina found out that Katya loved you, Kate admitted herself, and that's it, you became a taboo for her.

- Ahh, so!.. Well, something like that, I also assumed. Until that summer, they were like one soul with Katya, never parted. One could be boldly jealous. I thought this was the best way to pick up the keys to her. Marina dated with Yura those days, but they constantly quarreled, I wanted to know everything to the point, and I intended to find out all this through Katya, but... We were just friends with her, I was very careful. She interested me too a little bit, and there was not enough time for all my plans. Who knew that the poor thing had already managed to fall in love till losing her pulse.

- Eh you, expert! And Marina knew that...

They again sailed under the sails of memories, each in
own direction.

- Well, ok, but why exactly you? Not Sergei, not Pashka, finally. Look, here he is, noble knight Lohengrin! So she needed help, and you were just walking nearby - just in case, right?

- Yes, I did, I was around, - Vladimir admitted honestly.

- If I would have stuffed your face then, you would have gone painted. I suppose you fell in love with her like a little kitten. You think I didn’t notice the way you looked at her when she turned away. And then the way you danced - shu-shu-shu all the time! What were you wispering to each other, eh?! And your song about the joker and the beautiful queen!
 
- You, however, remember everything so well, - Vladimir could not resist.

- And you? although, of course, why do you need to remember when she is always with you?..

- From time to time, - Vladimir said. - And regarding your question: I just happened to be in the right place at the right time. That's all.

“That's all,” - Vasily mimicked shamelessly. - Yes, you climbed like a bear into the teremok, and ruined everything there! You were superfluous!

Vladimir involuntarily laughed at his fervor:

- Well, what would you do next? Just took what you wanted and then left her? Or would you marry her? Did you have this strength, tell me?