Chapter eleven. Friends 1

Íàäÿ Áèððó
For this incredible meeting, a suitable place was chosen. They met at seven o'clock in the evening in a small two-story hotel located on the edge of the village. The hotel did not belong to the village, but to the secret institute where Vladimir arrived on a business trip, and which was also a kind of secret: it stood at the edge of a century-old pine forest, and it was currently being renovated, so the room in which he stayed, was the only functioning hotel room.

They met in the hall, greeted with restraint and silently walked past the attendant and the watchman along the corridor to the second floor, and upon entering the room, they suddenly began to hug and clap each other, as in their youth, as if measuring strength and inflicting serious blows on each other, interspersed with joyful exclamations... Both flushed and both were a little embarrassed by the joy that had escaped outward, which each of them hoped to hide from the other.

Vladimir prepared a humble table: sandwiches, tea, cognac. Vasily raised his eyebrows in amazement, and Vladimir, recognizing him by this old habit, preserved from childhood, again began to happily slap him on the shoulders. It seemed to them that both of them had not changed at all, although if to remember how long they had not seen each other, and how much water had flowed under the bridge during that time...

By easy stages, drop by drop, a conversation began, which was destined to last past midnight.

“Actually, I prefer books,” Vladimir began. - Books are an opportunity to choose an intelligent interlocutor and a topic yourself, an acceptable pace and duration of a conversation. At work I have to communicate with people quite a lot, plus my intense scientific activity. Therefore, in my free time, I take a break from communication. But for you, I'll make an exception.

- I am very grateful... but as for me I prefer a frank conversation from the heart.

Vladimir smiled gladly.

- I'll tell you one professional secret. In our profession, there is such a rule: if you want to get some information from the person, then, no matter how interested you are, do not show your interest. If you start to insist, the person will take a defensive position, and you will not know anything. It is necessary, on the contrary, to retreat, to give him the opportunity to take the first step, since usually a person wants to share if he sees in you a willingness to listen, but at the same time the freedom of choice remains with him.

Vasily thought, it seemed, about something of his own.

- Yes, a psychologist. So have dangerous friends like that, - he said at last. - Now I understand why you reacted so strangely to my letters about Marina! You yourself admitted that even then you were interested in her, and that was how you fished out information from me showing like you don't care!

- Did I fish out? You couldn't shut your mouth! You spoke and wrote only about her. Yes, she interested me at once... It is always felt when there is something behind the words... Do you write poetry? I suppose you think she'll read it someday and understand what kind of person...

- I don’t publish them, - Vasily grumbled. - So how will she read?

- Why don't you?

- Poems are too personal, like a diary. Songs are another matter, I write songs for friends, I see the interlocutor in front of me in advance and thus talk to him. This is the only way they agree to be born, songs. Poems always come suddenly, when you least expect them - on the road, on the go, when, there is not a scrap of paper at hand, and you have to write them down on whatever you can find - on checks, scraps of paper, at the edges of newspapers. Once I even wrote down on the cover of one student's notebook...

- Recite something to me.

- No,I won't.

- Why? You always read before.

- That's right, before.

- What about our oath? "Nobody and nothing will destroy our male union..."

Vasily raised his fist threateningly.

- Okay, okay, already warmed up. I'll complain to Katya, she's fed you. Well, how are you? By the way, she is a wonderful hostess! - he praised Katya, and Vasily's face broke into a satisfied smile.

- You know, she turned out to be a good wife, she cooks so you'll lick your fingers, everything is clean everywhere, she never gets angry, all the time “darling, darling”, Pasha also is taught: “As dad says. Go ask dad." And the kid grows so calm, same like her... Crying a little, well, it's still a baby, it will pass... As a mistress, of course, she is not so hot...

- And the others?

- What "other", old man, what are you saying? - Vasily was sincerely indignant. - I gave up with this business for a long time now.

- Well done, my boy! This is what we need to drink! - which they did, and then Vasily, as if plucking up courage at the vine, said:

- But you are not well done, my boy!

Vladimir looked at him with interest.

- As you said then: "Sorry, it just happened, I could not resist!" Poor girl! I don’t understand how I haven't kill you then!

As Vladimir began to understand where Vasily had climbed, his puzzled face cleared up.

from the novel "From Eternal Point of View"