With Me

Валентин Лученко
I lie on a mown clover.
I breathe in the present moment as if I were drinking precious wine.
I look into my future either close or far. Probable and fateful.
My weird thoughts shuffle the cards and toss the pebbles with carved runes.
And then I say to myself:
“Come on! Start sowing rye!”

And, really, why not.
I'll take the guitar out of the case. I adjust the strings.
I'll take old notes and play a madrigal from the lute repertoire.
Then I'll take the fugue.
Let my fingers be obedient.
Let my heart tell me what really happened in 1575.
In Bologna, Turin, Milan, Venice and Istanbul.

I'll play for a long time. Too long.
Or maybe the music will play with me for centuries.
Ms. Fate successfully played roulette with my double.
Oh, I understand her. Or pretend. Does it matter?
Actually it was me to write the libretto for the opera "Dolce Vita".
I have to live with it.

13.39 27.05.2021
© Copyright: Valentin Luchenko, 2021