Orpheus and Eurydice

Надя Бирру
How fragile and defenseless she seemed in her sleep. Her eyes were closed, and her face, devoid of the mysterious orange light, its most striking quality, seemed sweet, innocent, beautiful in its innocence. For the doctor Lisa was the same as could be for a botanistan unprecedented and unknown flower, which does not yet have a name.

And then the day of farewell came... that same "tomorrow"...

For a long time he did not let her thin fingers go of his hands. He didn't want to let her go! Lisa looked up. There were tears in her eyes.

- Thank you, Voldemar, thank you very much for everything you've done for me. I know it cost you a lot, but you brought me back to life. It was worth the effort!

For a moment she pressed her head against his chest. Voldemar held back himself with all his might. He knew if he only made one movement towards her, there would be no turning back. Just one movement!.. She seemed so sincere!..

At the door, Liza turned around and said with a charming smile:

- Goodbye, doctor! The duel is over.

For several minutes they gazed into each other's eyes.

...I haven't seen you for so many years and here you are. One has only to take a few steps. Why don't I do that?

I feel the impossibility of our connection: my past and your future stand between us. I yearned for you with all my heart, I was missing so much, I talked to you on long lonely nights.

With my longing and love, I called you out of oblivion, pulled you out of the embrace of death, like Orpheus his Eurydice - and now you are standing in front of me, and I... I don't dare to touch you!

from my Novel "Farewell Prelude or Walking in Rain"