An old lady

Маргарита Хамматова
               
She was an elderly woman, pretty and nice. And in spite of the wrinkles around her eyes, she looked young and fresh. That was because of her inner light coming out.
She was very kind and forgiving. Her eyes often smiled, making me happy.
She tried her best to look good and, honestly speaking, she succeeded! She had lots of hats and wigs, which made her modern and stylish, like Queen Elisabeth! She never let herself fade, even when she was ill. She used to have a make-up and a hairdo every time she was leaving, even to the shop or the newsagent’s.
I remember my early childhood. That was the time, when we were the most close. She liked to pet and coddle me, giving me sweets and toys. She sometimes took me from the kindergarten and we headed to the biggest toyshop, where I was given such a rare for those times chance to choose a toy myself…
I can’t forget the tiny doll, two or three inches tall, which she dressed up, sewing her jackets and shorts! How much love and patience was there in those deeds! How mindless and reckless the children are not to value their parents’ self-sacrificing efforts!
When she was gone, my soul became an orphan. I lost one of the closest people in my life! The one, that I’m really like. The one, that had left a bright trace in the world and in my life, no doubt! The one, that I’ll never forget and who will always have a place in my heart! My granny.

                to my Granny
                Margaret Kuznetsova
                who would be 95 today,
                December 4th, 2020