A very strange accident...

Мия Литвинова
   It was a very early London morning, almost night. I was sitting by the window, reading a book. I couldn't sleep. I had a strange premonition, as if something terrible and dreadful was going to happen. And my intuition was right. It was 4:51, 19th of July, 1889. Suddenly I heard an awful scream somewhere in the street. I didn't understand if it was far from my house or close to it, but the cry was really bloodcurdling. I put the book away, grabbed my jacket, and ran outside. The sun was rising over the horizon. Birds were singing. Unexpectedly somebody ran down the street, trying to hide something. I noticed that it was a large stone, but not a usual stone. Its colour was deep red, like the colour of fresh blood... I was very interested, so I caught a cab and followed the stranger who had just run by. So began a new detective story...