Mind Transformation 467

Волибор Заставкин
467.
r, b, yu
Yesterday, I watched a video where a girl was talking about “shadow work” for half an hour, and this concept attracted my attention more than I expected. The idea is that at the moment when we are born we come to this world undivided, but since we are dependent on our parents in the process of socialization we are forced to get separated into two parts. There is always something in us that our parents, and then other people, love; and there is something that they hate. They correct our behavior by verbal, emotional, or any other sorts of reinforcements and punishments. From our first days, we learn from our environment that there is something wrong with us—something we must repress to successfully get socialized. In other words, we sacrifice part of us for the sake of society, but this part isn’t going anywhere and stays with us as we grow old. This part becomes our “shadow”. I’m not sure whether it’s clear or not; I can’t describe it better than this girl after listening to her just one time. I knew about this idea from reading Jung and listening to J.B. Peterson, however, now, after watching the video I figured out how this damn shadow is formed and I also figured out something that I couldn’t figure out before. It’s quite interesting and I guess I may talk about it while doing my speaking exercise.

To the beginning: http://www.proza.ru/2018/03/10/1530
Next: http://proza.ru/2020/06/11/992

See me on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC43fwC5DpfaJi3wGQO5b_ZA?