The dream of Rome

Òîìàñ Æîãèí
The dream of Rome

Lights of the Westminster Palace were illuminating the expanse of water. There was not a soul on the streets of dark imperial capital. So, when black car swept over the Westminster bridge, nobody even noticed it. The vehicle stopped right at the entrance. A well suited man steeped out of the car, and guardsmen at the door saluted him. He pretended not to notice it and with a confident gait passed them. Somebody opened heavy wooden doors, and the man went inside the building. A slave, who probably was a butler, was already awaiting him.

-Grand Duke. -he nodded as a sign of respect, -The emperor awaits you in his cabinet. Follow me.

They walked trough endless corridors and aisles. Grand Duke already was here once before. It was winter of 1927, the year Scottish anarchists decided to grab guns and rebel against the British rule. There was a meeting in this exact building, and he happened to be in London, so Edward invited him to participate in the conversation. That time it was a revolt in the empires heart, what could be the occasion now. Butler stopped in front of a big door inlaid with gold and cautiously knocked. A tired voice from inside invited them to come in.
As Grand Duke entered the room, butler closed the door behind him and disappeared.
Emperors cabinet was full of trophies from all around the world. The famous “Mona Lisa”, captured by the British army in the battle of Paris, was looking at the Duke from a wall behind the emperor’s desk. Emperor himself was sitting in a armchair, reading a book. As he saw the Duke. he put the folio aside and stood up to greet his guest.

-Richard.

-Your Highness.

They hugged amicably. Emperor pointed his hand on an other armchair, asking his guest to sit down. Richard nodded and took the proposed seat.

-What book were you reading before I interrupted you? -Grand Duke asked.

-Oh, you did not interrupt me, old friend. I am always happy to see you. And the book... It is T.E. Lawrence. Great author, but what a horrible person.

-Since when are you interested in middle eastern culture?

-I am not. I just think that a emperor of Britain has to know the basics, especially in our circumstances.

Grand Duke took a deep breath.

-What are the circumstances? -he finally asked.

-There is a big abolitionist rebellion in Suez.

-In Sussex?! It is one hour away from here! -Duke stood up so fast, Edward even recoiled.

-No, you misunderstood. In Suez. Africa.

-In Africa? Why does it bother us than? -asked the Grand Duke, but just after saying it out loud he realized everything.

-Suez. Suez protection zone. -Edward gave him a hint.

-The channel.

Edward nodded.

-Now I understand. Tell me about the rebellion.

-We do not know a lot about them. The uprising took place yesterday, so we cannot assess the popularity of it.

-So what do we know?

-They call themselves “The iron dominion”, Arthur the unknown is leading them.

-Who?

-He is called unknown for a reason. Our secret service is searching for information, but everything we got on him are his old army documents. He seems to be a retired officer or something similar to this.

Richard laughed ironically.

-A retired officer rebelling against his government? I have a d;j; vu.

They laughed about a thing only they understood. Two friends, they knew each other since the childhood. Back then Richard was just a son of a royal guardsman. But after some years... Well, he saved Edwards throne, and possibly, his life. But that is a different story to tell.

-So... -Grand Duke reintroduced the conversation. -What are you going to do about them?

-I think I’m going to send over the European corp, if the Middle African Committee would not manage to crush the rebellion alone. Plus, we still have garrisons all over Africa. This is going to be a quick war, I am sure.

Richard looked his friend right in the eyes. He knew - the emperor was either lying, or not telling all the truth.

-What is the problem, Ed? You did not call me here just to tell  about a small revolt. Tell me, what is the actual reason.

-You are right. See, my friend... The iron dominion is getting weapons and financial support from the Persian Caliphate. If we fight the dominionists, we will have to fight Persia too. At lest I think so.

Richard turned his head away. He had to think. War with Persia was a great trial for Britain. County has avoiding it for more than a hundred years, every time regrading for not striking at Persia sooner. Right now Persia is stronger than ever. Weaker than Britain, of course, but it was much more faithful. Richard always considered them as sectarians, and he was not the only one. Emperor saw him doubting, and added quickly:

-I am the British emperor! A have the biggest navy, the strongest army, I have the globe in my hands! I will crush the Persians, there is no other way.

-Let us imagine that you have won the war. You destroyed their fleet, you burned Baghdad to the ground. How will you go down in history? As a hero who gave us Persia, or as a warmonger who killed a plenty of British people?

-I would choose when I win, because the triumphant is getting to write the story.

-You will chose if you win. The knowledge from the book... -he pointed at the “Seven pillars of wisdom”, -...is not helping you. You don’t know Persians.

-You neither. But what I do know, is that together with the Russian army, we are going to destroy the caliph along with his hordes!

-But what if the Russians do not enter the war?

-Oh they surely will. And if they do not, we will threat them with an embargo. Without our goods and resources their prosperity will be gone in a year of even faster. So don’t bother yourself thinking about them, think about Persia.

-I do not share your opinion. Leave the thinking about your enemies for your allies, think about your allies instead.

-You propose to force Russia to attack them from Central Asia and Caucasus?

-None of them would be able to achieve victory, but at lest Persia will be distracted for some time.

-And what to do with the iron dominion?

-Crush the riot, execute everybody who is responsible for this, maybe burn a few cities. Act as you always do.

Edward has gone silent for a few minutes. He was just starring at a golden sword hanging on the wall, his head, most probably, was filled with thoughts and ideas. Finally, he got back to reality, and looked at Richard, who humbly waited for him to wake up.

-I see your point, -the emperor said, -...but... You do not live in London, you do not feel the country’s spirit. Luckily, I do. And the country wants war, wants the threat of the Persian invasion to be eliminated. I apologize, but I cannot take your advice.

-Isn’t it the reason you invited me here? So I could help you with an advice?

Emperor stood up and went to his desk.

-No, Richard, no. I have a lot of advisors here, they know Persians and can think globally. They are much smarter then we are. No, Richard, I invited you here, because I needed a friend. A person who could support me. And even this obvious mission you managed to fail. Ever since Wallis died, I am ruling this country on my own, without a single person who understands me. And you know what? I think I start loosing control. This pathetic liberals, they want me away, they want my throne! Well, if war is what they need to understand my ambitions, they will get it. I want Suez, and I want my power back. And if you do not support me, that is you choice. And now, get out of my cabinet! I don’t what to see you anymore.

Richard was shocked. Trying to realize what exactly just happened, he left the room. In the corridor he ran across a group of people with blue bandages on their hands. They were talking about something important, or at least sounded so. One of them shortly looked at the Duke, but after recognizing him turned himself around.

-Richard, is that you?

Richard did not recognize the person at first. It was a plump man, about Richards age. He looked happy, obviously it was something you couldn’t take away from him. This happiness on his face...

-Lettow-Vorbeck? How did you...?

-I am a member of the Middle African Committee, friend! I was not expecting to see you here.

-Looks like our administration is really bigger then we thought, since we don’t know about each other working in the same sphere.

-So what are you doing here?

-I was visiting Edward. He called me here, to be his friend, and I tried to save solider lives instead, so he send me away.

Lettow-Vorbeck clattered.

-So you know about the coming war? -he asked.

-I do...

They understood each other, there was no need to talk. Grand Duke knew, that if the Middle African Committee shatters, non of its members would be capable of finding a new place in the government structure. And even this scenario is only possible, if they survive the colonial war. No wonder Vorbeck was nervous. Meanwhile other members of the MAC were still discussing something, so to end the silence, he asked Vorbeck about the subject of their discussion.

-We we’re talking about the speech, one of us has to give on this meeting tomorrow. Are you invited? Of course you are...

-Edward does not consider me as a politician. I do not think so.

-Well, you are now. I will add you to the guest list. You have to see it.

-Emperor will be surprised... Thank you, Paul.

-I am always there for you, Richard. See you tomorrow at nine o’clock.

They shook their hands, and Richard continued his way through the endless passages of the Westminster Palace. He was just walking, without thinking about the direction, just hoping to get out of this building. On his way to nowhere, he kept thinking. He kept thinking util he found himself standing in front of a huge house. He realized, that it was the house, where he normally stayed in London. He entered it, with a great will to lay down. Tomorrow must be an important day for the country and especially for the crown. For its state, at least.



Next morning came knocking on the door. A slave woke Richard up and gave him a breakfast. After finishing his scrambled egg, he took a shower and suited up. Governments car was already awaiting him. He hopped in, and once again made his way over the Westminster bridge. The guardsmen have already been informed about his arrival, and let him through the opened door. The hall was full of people. For the most part they were military and naval officers, but a few civil suits were popping up here and there. Richard even recognized some faces. Luckily, his work in Northern Europe did not require to know all of them.

-Richard!

Grand Duke turned his head and saw Edward coming to greet him.

-Richard! I am glad that you are still here! Sorry for the events of the passed night, I ask you to accept my apology.

-I am honored to accept it, Your Highness, but I cannot understand what you are apologizing for. The events of last night are my fault, and I have to apologize for disappointing you. I am looking forward to revoke my sins, and prove my loyalty to the crown.

Edward, as expected, was surprised by this speech.

-Richard, what are you talking about? And please, stop calling me “your majesty”.

-As you say, my emperor. If this is what you want, my duty is to fulfill your wish. 


Doors of the netting room opened. Richard left Edward trying to interpret Richard’s words, and followed everyone to the room where history was made. These walls saw thinks which are classified for the public, things that regular people do not know about. They knew even more then the emperor, but in was only Richard’s opinion.
People were taking their seats, Grand Duke joined the members of the MAC in the African lodge. It was a great place to sit, because the Zhili clique on the left was very quiet, and the lodge on the right was empty, because the German Brandenburger Kollaborationsrat could not make it to the meeting. Everybody was awaiting the first speaker. According to Paul, who Richard was siting next to, it had to be the one from the liberal party. Richard, on the contrary, thought that the first speaker had to be a loyal monarchist, who would show Edwards side of the story. But both of them were wrong.

-My fellow lords. I am happy to see all of you here. I have important news for you to share.

Lettow-Vorbeck turned his head to Richard.

-What is Edward doing there? Is he a speaker...?

-No. -Richard whispered. -And now, listen.

-I assume, you all know about the situation in the Suez protection zone, and I assume that all of you understand, what we have to do. Iron dominion claims Africa. The French once claimed to rule on land, now we rule the French. America once claimed independence, and you know how it ended. Iron dominion should not claim something, which belongs to Britain. They made a big mistake, and to prove it, we have to do one simple thing: declare a war.

Edward gave the audience some time to react. Some people were shocked, some were jubilating, Richard just looked at the emperor. “What a madman...” was his only thought.
Edward moved closer to the microphone and continued his speech.

-Evil thongs might say, that I am doing it because my ego tells me so. It is a lie. Only motive of mine, is to continue the golden age of England, and to achieve my goal, I am ready to do everything necessary. I am worried for our nation, they are many reasons why. And here is one of them... I had a strange dream about a week ago. I saw Rome burning. Nothing happened in this dream, I just saw a conflagrant city. Flame destroyed everything, coliseum was in ruins. And this dream kept coming back to me, I could not throw it out of my head. Only after consulting with the pope, I understood the meaning of it. It was not just a dream, it was a vision. I did not see Rome burn, I saw an empire going down. If only each of you, gentlemen, could at least for a moment feel what I feel. And I feel pride, I feel strength and happiness of the coming glory. If one empire must disappear from the map, I will do everything in my power, for making Persia this one! We are going to fight the unfaithful hordes, we are going to fight on their beaches, in their land and the sky above it. We are going to fulfill our destiny. For Britain!

-For King and country! -hundreds of voices answered him, you could feel the unity in the air. Grand Duke and Vorbeck looked at each other. Now, no matter what they do, the war will begin. Edward just made his dream inevitable, it was only the matter of time for it to happen. To which of the two empires? It was still a question.