THE EYE

Ëåíà Êðåññ
THE EYE (ÎÊÎ)
Cast of Characters

VAVERKA:      a Belarussian Squirell
BELKA-LENKA:  a Russian Squirell
SQUIRELL:     an American Squirell
EQUREUIL:     a French Squirell
SQUIRELLPEARE: an English Squirell

Scene
        the roof of the house
Time
 Our days, before, after, always, forever....after Earth will
die

ACT I Scene 1
          Scene. The Darkness. Flash, a sharp exhaust sound,
          darkness again. 5 pairs of small lights - 5 pairs
          of eyes - in line; for around 20 seconds the
          lights stay without motion, then they start
          moving. One pair of lights starts running around
          in agony. One pair has essentially moved
          downwards. Two pairs are moving, but not so fast.
          And only one stays without any motion.
EQUREUIL
     This is the end!I knew that it would be the end. I have
     historically developed a sense of premonition for such
     things. I had a dream last night, just about that. As
     Mary Antoinette, who foreknew her death,I had a feeling
     I would die on this roof.

BELKA-LENKA
     I also had his feeling, that you would die on this
     roof. But I thought that it would be by the hands of
     Vaverka. Or more precisely, by her wonderful self-made
     cognac.

EQUREUIL
     Champagne. It was champagne. It still is.
               (a sound of someone drinking)

SQUIRELL
     It’s 2020. It’s apocalypsis for sure. They presaw it
     for 2012,but even that time I said that it’s not
     logical,it should be two 2. And my camera doesn’t work.
     I have tickets for the first raw of the end of the
     world, and my camera doesn’t work-that really is an
     apocalypsis.

SQUIRELLPEARE
     I don’t see anything. I can’t write. I have tickets for
     the first raw of the world end, and I can’t describe
     it- it really is an apocalypses.

SQUIRELL
     You couldn’t have written, even if it was light. Don’t
     have any illusions.

SQUIRELLPEARE
     You couldn’t have done your movie, even if it was
     light. Even if it was dark. AAAA Somebody has pushed
     me.

SQUIRELL
     Who needs you? AAAA Somebody has pushed me.

EQUREUIL
     This is the end. Everything is just like in my dream.

SQUIRELL
     You dreamt a lot. But you are right that this is the
     end. My camera doesn’t work. I don’t see a thing. I
     don’t have any control on this roof. And sombody is
     running around his roof and is pushing everyone,even
     me. I even know who it is. And I can’t do anything.
     It’s not a dream, it’s a nightmare.

EQUREUIL
     Finaly the world is free from America.
               (singing )
     Allons enfants de la Patrie...Le jour de gloire est
     arriv; Contre nous la tirania
               (sighs)
     this is the end! Exactly as in my dream. I heard this
     song. Exactly as in my previous life - I heard this
     song.

SQUIRELLPEARE
     And following your dream - soon the guiliotine  will
     come up. And I don’t have paper, nor pen,nor light to
     describe it. This is apocalypses.

SQUIRELL
     I don’t have a camera to film it. This is apocalypses.

EQUREUIL
     I’m not the only one who is going to die. It looks like
     a collective event. Seems to be a strike. Don’t worry,
     my camarades, it might be funny. The strike of EDF is
     always funny.

SQUIRELLPEARE
     What does your EDF have to do with this? We are in
     Belarus.

EQUREUIL
     Oh, it’s not a national strike anymore! I think it has
     something to do with environment. Economy of
     electricity,some hour without electricity charity
     around the Earth.

SQUIRELL
     You were the first to say that this is the end,and now
     you’re talking about the happy hour of Earth
     protection.

EQUREUIL
     It’s the usual order of our strikes. AAAA Somebody
     pushes me.

SQUIRELL
     I’m holding my camera in my hands. And if this somebody
     tries to push me once again, I will kill this someone.
     AAA

          After the scream there is a sound of camera,
          noises, of something falling on the earth. Now 2
          pairs of eyes are running  around the roof and 2
          pairs are following this motion. And one pair of
          lights is at the same spot, not moving.

SQUERILLPEARE
     I think we are now already after the end. In hell.

EQUREUIL
     I always thought that hell doesn’t differ much from
     life on the earth. Just a little bit more dark.

SQUERILLPEARE
     Thanks to this motion I can even distinguish who is
     who.

EQUREUIL
     Again I’m saying, this doesn’t differ much from the
     earth.

          (Sound of the bottle of champagne opening)

SQUIRELLPEARE
     How can you drink in such conditions?

EQUREUIL
     I don’t need to see. I am capable to hold the glass in
     my arms in the darkness.

SQUIRELLPEARE
     I’m not talking about that.

EQUREUIL
     I’m not in the mood to make guesses. How can you stay
     sober in such conditions? I wonder if all this is the
     hell, where is Vaverka then?

SQUIRELLPEARE
     She is in paradise. With her beetles of Colorado.
     Cooking potatoes now.

EQUREUIL
     Good for her. How do you think if we are in hell and
     Vaverka is in paradise, will be there any problems wih
     delivery of champagne here?

SQUIRELLPEARE
     I think not. It just will  be more expensive.
     Considering the shipment cost, taxes. AAA Somebody has
     pushed me.

EQUREUIL
     We always know who pushes us. We cry aloud about this.
     We cry aloud AAA. And that’s all that we can do. I
     still suppose that we are on the Earth. That’s funny,
     because when I was on the earth, after 2-3 glasses of
     champagne I was thinking that I was in paradise.

SQUIRELLPEARE
     Drink two glasses more and maybe you will achieve
     paradise. AAA Somebody pushes me.

EQUREUIL
     Why they are always pushing you? They never touch me.
     I’m a very independent girl.

SQUIRELLPEARE
     Oh rather drunk.

EQUREUIL
     I am. To die with champagne! How do you think will this
     4 running lights ever stop?

SQUIRELLPEARE
     No, they are trying to take control over the hell.

EQUREUIL
     And these two, always without motion?

SQUIRELLPEARE
     That’s God’s eye. Two.

SQUIRELL
     How dare you?! It’s my movie! The first part, as well
     as the second.

SQUIRELLPEARE
     Yes,as well as the same actress. Coming from paradise.

SQUIRELL
     Where?

SQUIRELLPEARE
     If you stop for one minute, you can see in this world
     something besides you. For example, these two
     eyes,looking at us, all this im, in the dark. God’s
     eyes.

SQUIRELL
     Oh my God! I see the God and my camera doesn’t work.
          These two lights move towards twilights without
          motions and  before them are geting down.
     Oh my god! Pardon me! Pardon me! Pardon all my sins

EQUREUIL
     Some madness is in the air

SQUIRELLPEARE
     I also feel some very strange parfum! As if everything
     smells like you

EQUREUIL
     you are pervers

SQUIRELLPEARE
     not about you. Really, smell!

          (some noise as one’s nose smells)

EQUREUIL
     All I smell is me, and I like it...but it’s so hard, i
     think, this shampaign is more stronger than any
     other„,i am going to sleep...really„this is the end...

SQUIRELLPEARE
     I have this feeling too. It’s strange but I fell
     asleep. How do you think, should we let this felling
     taking over us or should we try to keep staying
     vigilant and alive and sober perhaps

EQUREUIL
     It’s too late for me, I am dying. This is the end!
     Pardon me my God all my sins, all I regret is that I
     hadn’t enough time to double their quantity and some
     quality of some of them

SQUIRELLPEARE
     Sinner

EQUREUIL
     I am and proud of being so

SQUERILL
     Oh my god! pardon me! pardon me!

EQUREUIL
     I’ve never thought that I will die listening for
     Squirell’s repentance: I have not even dreamt about it.

SQUIRELLPEARE
     Neither me

EQUREUIL
     I am falling asleep.  Good buy, my dear friend!

SQUIRELLPEARE
     Me too! Good buy!

SQUIRELL
     Pardon me....aaa...somebody pushes me....pardon me....
          Silence   3 pairs of lights are geting down, stay
          immobile. the 4th pair is running in agony than
          falls down too. only the 5th couple of eyes stay
          without motions from the beginning.

scene 2
          some time later. lights without motion during some
          time. one pair of lights start a litle bit moving,
          than second

EQUREUIL
     Where am I? Where am I?

SQUIRELLPEARE
     I don't now, but unfortunately still near me

EQUREUIL
     I was always thinking that it is the same as in the
     Earth

SQUIRELLPEARE
     I start thinking so too. What was it? This magic smell?
     and dreams? a midsummer dream?

EQUREUIL
     yes...

SQUIRELL
     Where am I? What the fuck?

EQUREUIL
     or midsummer nightmare

BELKA-LENKA
     Where am I?

EQUREUIL
     Now for sure, a midsummer nightmare

BELKA-LENKA
     Stop dreaming, you will not have nightmares!

SQUIRELLPEARE
     It’s apocalypses!

SQUIRELL
     Sure, it’s the end of the world!

EQUREUIL
     This is the end! This is the end after the end!
     It’s like in my dream! Everything is like as in my
     dream!

BELKA-LENKA
     Stop crying! It’s just Vaverka’s alcohol device who
     crashed.

EQUREUIL
     This is now a real apokalypsis! This is the end! This
     is the end after the end!

BELKA-LENKA
     Yes, the 5 liters of alcohol went out all on her, I
     took the big part on me, but Vaverka suffered the most!
     She is still under alcohol influence.

EQUREUIL
     What I call sacred tortures!

BELKA-LENKA
     She is really in paradise!

SQUIRELLPEARE
     God’s eye and I have no light to describe it!

SQUIRELL
     God’s eye - 3 and I have no camera to film it!

VAVERKA
     Dear visitors of restaurant "Gold VAVERKA in the DARK".
     Specially for these who can’t see and read the bill for
     the night of alcohol-kalian as well as for performance
     of the end of the world will be done later after the
     electricity will be repared. I hope, you enjoyed the
     spectacle as well as atmosphere.

EQUREUIL
     Everything is just like on the Earth. Everything is
     just like in my dream.

THE END