Remember, Russia, you are great

Îëüãà Ñïåñèâöåâà Þóðàë
You cannot conquer  Russia; you’ve got a chance To love or hate, accept or not,
And if you seem to be the winners once,Then it’s a false idea that you’ve caught.

Oh, Russia, when I hear your name, I feel such sorrow, care and pain!
My heart beats high both night and day. Be kind, have mercy, God, I pray.

Remember, Russia, you are great,Not only in the fields of battles past,
But in the green fields, full of wheat And forests, gardens free of dust.

I love you deeply, as dear land: Your hills and valleys, sand on strand,
Your songs and dances, lakes and seas, Your beasts and fish, birds in the trees…

Your sunrise is a splendid sight, Which gives me always such delight,
I sing and hop, laugh and say true: Oh, Russia, I’m in love with you!

Oh, foreigners, your vanity to see the world around Brings you to that distant soil, which name unites
The East and West, the North and South,Where you prefer to see the famous sights.

You cannot conquer  Russia; you’ve got a chance To love or hate, accept or not,
And if you seem to be the winners once,Then it’s a false idea that you’ve caught.

Oh, Russia, when I hear your name, I feel such sorrow, care and pain!
My heart beats high both night and day. Be kind, have mercy, God, I pray.