Tomorrow

Àíàñòàñèÿ Øèñòîâñêàÿ
   This long night was cool enough, so I unwillingly woke up several times when the duvet continuously tried to fall off me on to the wooden floor. That was the cause of why at dawn I crawled back under my warm duvet and drifted off to sleep. I didn’t know exactly what time it was when I woke up again. My neighbors started to persuade each other for unknown reasons. Just as one of them had finally reached his goal and managed to bring them all around, he somehow undid the effects of such a great success and everything went back to the beginning. I figured that this would never end, so I decided that a freshly brewed cup of coffee would be crucial in this kind of situation. I’d nearly dragged myself out of bed, when after several long yawns, I drowsily caught a glimpse of the alarm clock on the bedside table. The clock dial, that glowed bright yellow, showed 10 a.m.
“10 a.m.!” I cried to myself from the shock and deep despair.
“I am late,” I noted automatically, when I unexpectedly remembered yesterday’s events, and realized that I will never ever come back to this place again. Not today and not even tomorrow. Bye-bye! I am free! While I warmed up a sandwich in the microwave and enjoyed my coffee, I recalled parts of the previous day…

   The person in front of me was full of frosty politeness and had a cold smile on her face. Each of us had already discovered one another’s strengths and weaknesses, but undoubtedly neither of us wanted to gain more experience in quarrelling. We have both been equals in this field for many years, so I knew that my every word will soon be widespread. That is how it works here. Usually. She has tried getting me to open up to her before, but she did not succeed. She deliberately avoided eye contact, whereas I changed the subject several times to avoid discussing it while I was packing all my stuff. I didn’t have any desire to stay for long because I wanted to reach my house by supper. The truth was that this was only partly true. More than that, I knew by now that this way will not be easy. It seemed to take ages to get home. When I got back into the car and turned on the music, it was getting darker and the wind was howling strongly. The fast moving cars coming up the road and the red sunset reflected in the rearview mirror. It was quite late when I sat down in front of my typewriter and started to write. Tomorrow everything will be ok.               


My blog: www.stacyshystovska.blogspot.com