White Horse

Íàäÿ Áèððó
- Then this Julia went after her, as if attached. Where Lisa, there and she is like a ponytail, - Andrey grinned and showed this ponytail with his hand. - Why? Well, I can’t explain. I can only say one thing: everything that happened to Lisa later, everything - both good and bad - could be foreseen even then. Not this, so different, if not earlier, then later. I understood this even that summer, even before marrying Olga, before I learned many details. I always had a hunch that she ... that something would happen to her. Her life was somehow incomprehensible, without any order, without rules, without ... I don’t know! I can not explain!

- Andrei, speaking of disorder and non-compliance with the rules, do you mean her inconstancy in love?

- She didn’t love anyone! She only allowed to be loved, and even then not by everyone, - he smiled sarcastically and spread his hands helplessly. - You see, I’m not particularly good at explaining, but ... it was different with her.

Life seemed to have acquired a fourth dimension. She always knew everything in advance, she instilled confidence and strength in a person, and also could easily deprive confidence and strength. Next to her, I felt like a different person, but in reality ... but in fact it was she, not just a person, but rather part of some other world, and only when she left I suddenly realized: here, you stayed, and this world has become the same again, and all these miracles, and sounds, and colors, all these incomprehensible encounters, coincidences, and forces, and laughter, and tears - this was just she. She left - and none of this here anymore, as if the door had been slammed.

She was doomed to be loved, but she couldn’t fall in love with any of us, because ... well, we are people, and she is something completely different ... how do I know what? ..

Or these oddities of hers , visions, which I don’t understand at all.

We just walked along the sea-road where cars drive. But at that moment the road was completely empty. Suddenly Lisa stumbled back and pressed herself against the curb. We were surprised, and she said: “It is crazy! And where did it come from?! We asked: “Who?” - “What who? The white horse! Haven’t you seen?” We looked at her, and she looked at us - and almost cried.

Then she asked from Pashka: “Wasn’t it here? It just rushed past and almost knocked me!” Pasha stroked her head and said: “Well, of course, a white horse.” Luda also hesitated and admitted: "Yes, I also felt something, some kind of wind."

And only Olga and I stood like two fools. We did not see and did not feel anything.

Frankly, then I thought that we were played, but then changed my mind. Too many oddities, too many coincidences. I admit it. But do not expect explanations from me.
 

excerpt from my novel "Walking in Rain"