My favorite school

Раиса Рабинович
MY FAVORITE SCHOOL
As a University graduate, with teaching certificates in Russian and Ukrainian languages and literature, I taught Russian in the Ukrainian school system. I was, indeed, happy to have this opportunity to share my favorite educational experience. The school wherein I worked had recently been built. Everything was new and pleasant. The area around the school had behind it a green forest of tall pine trees.  The scent of the trees and foliage was invigorating, there were children playing on the playground and men returning from work walking on the sports path.
Our principal decided which teachers would work at the school. I had been chosen as one of them.  Everyone was expected to come on their days off in order to help clean up the trash and clean cabinets in preparation for the students. Sunday had become one good day of work for me and my face showed my happiness. I remember the day as being beautiful. It filled me with pleasure.
As I was gazing at the new buildings, I thought of the future students.  How many of those young students would be excellent and how many would learn the languages?  What would my new coworkers be like?  The education building would be open for students in 2-3 months. I did discover, however, that the road construction was not finished. This was the spring and the ground here is made of clay. This makes for a wet and slippery trek to class.
I stopped and pondered how I might get to the school building without getting muddy or dirty.  You must realize that I always loved new clothes. Before this work opportunity presented itself, I had purchased a beautiful light coat with beige boots. Hesitantly, I started down the road to work. Of course, there was a large puddle of water in my path. It was impossible to go around or bypass it in any way.  I had to go through it… and do so quickly.
Some workmen observing me wondered what I was doing.  They probably thought, “That young woman is crazy!”
Suddenly my boots got stuck in the mud. I couldn’t pull them out and I felt that I was sinking. At first it was so funny, that I began to laugh.  A big bird was flying near my head. It seemed to hunting for a fish. Then, I noticed my coat had almost off below my belt and became wet and dirty. Frightened, I shouted for help! The construction builders were not only laughing, they weren’t going to help. So I screamed for help. Then, they extended their hands to help pull me from the hole. 
I approached the front door of the school, all dirty and angry. I had just nearly sunk! And people weren’t quick to rescue me! My new clothes were ruined!
Do you think I would have gone home in order to change clothes? Absolutely not. I worked with my colleagues, still dressed in muddy and wet clothes.
Many years after that incident, I reflect with a sense of humor and nostalgia. This episode did not dampen my love for my work which reflected in the excellent students and good friends of my life.