184. An Anthology of Jewish Humor. j. h

Äàâèä Òàðàùàíñêèé
                Óðîê¹1
                Àíãëèéñêèé ÿçûê.
                GIVE AND TAKE
   
         A hassidic rabbi, who was to leave on a journey to a
  distant city, was followed by a large group of his hassidim.
  A modern young man asked one of them, “Who is that man whom
  all the people are crowding around?” “Don’t you know?” the
  hassid replied. “He is a great zaddik.” The young man then
  asked the sexton for permission to see the great rabbi. Wh-
  en he met the rabbi. He clasped his hand and gave him five
  dollars.
     “Did you want something, young fellow?” the rabbi asked.
      “No,” the man replied, and handed him another five doll-
  ars, which the zaddik put into his pocket, saying, “Perhaps
  your wife is ill and you would want me to bless her?” “No,
  dear rabbi, I am a bachelor,” and again he gave the rabbi
  a five dollar bill, which he did not refuse.
      “You certainly must have something to ask, my good man,”
  the zaddik insisted. “Maybe your business is not very good, or
  you have some sins to atone for.”
      “On the contrary, rabbi, my business is exceptionally fine
  this year and I have committed no sins,” and thus speaking he
  handed over another five dollars.
      “Young man, there must be something that you definitely
  want. You certainly have a purpose in all this.”
      “Yes, rabbi, I’ll be frank with you,” the young man fin-
  ally spoke up, “I have a reason. I wanted to see how long a
  man can stand and accept money for nothing.”