Mind Transformation 373

Âîëèáîð Çàñòàâêèí
373
Dickens “The Personal History of David Copperfield”. Sapolsky: Behavioral Biology 2, 3. “The Intellectual We Deserve”.
I’m slowly coming back to learning. The course of lectures that I began to watch yesterday is my near aim. I remember I already tried to watch this course a couple of years ago in Russian translation, but there were only several lectures at that time. After I watched them at once, I gave up because it was necessary to wait for a long time till a next lecture would be translated. Now I’m watching the same lectures in English having no difficulty with understanding. I think I’ll watch the whole course (25 lectures) for a few weeks. So it’s just one thing. Another thing is that I’ve read a big article where a kind of left-oriented fellow tried to attack J. Peterson. Mostly it was very funny till I reached the end and figured out that the author of this article was quite serious. When he used a term “social worriers” and blamed Peterson for leading the youth towards solipsism, teaching people take care of themselves instead of criticizing the world, etc; when I realized that the author wasn’t just laughing at Peterson but actually argued with him, I lost any interest in that. Then I took a walk and was thinking about this article for half an hour. The language of the article was by no means quite good, and most of the time I was agree with what has been said there, but this stupid end with those statements that we all should collaborate to make the world a better place turned things upside down. I expected something really amazing from a man who dared to call such a wise guy like Peterson a fool. Anyways, I still like the style of the article, so I can’t say that reading it was a waste of time.
Besides, I’ve read one chapter of “David Copperfield”.

To the beginning: http://www.proza.ru/2018/03/10/1530
Next: http://www.proza.ru/2019/07/16/1319