The maple Клён

Зиновий Коровин
                Poem by Sergey Yesenin
                Translated into English by Zinovy Korovin

You, my naked maple, that in icy show,
why do you bend down under winter’s blow?

Either saw you something, or have heard a sound?
Like you left a village just to walk around.

And as drunken watchman walked onto the road,
sunk in drifts of snow, froze his foot by roam.

I’m, as well, somehow got myself unstable:
cannot reach my home, drunk, off my friend’s table.

Here I met a willow, there I hugged a pine-tree,
sang to them of summer by the blizzard’s wild spree.

It’s seemed I resembled this appeared maple,
but not free of foliage, rather, – green and stable.

I became like stupid, drunk or drugged teenager,
hugged a birch with passion as a wife of stranger.

              Сергей Есенин 

        КЛЁН

Клён ты мой опавший, клён заледенелый,
Что стоишь, нагнувшись под метелью белой?

Или что увидел? Или что услышал?
Словно за деревню погулять ты вышел.

И, как пьяный сторож, выйдя на дорогу,
Утонул в сугробе, приморозил ногу.

Ах, и сам я нынче чтой-то стал нестойкий,
Не дойду до дома с дружеской попойки.

Там вон встретил вербу, там сосну приметил,
Распевал им песни под метель о лете..

Сам себе казался я таким же клёном,
Только не опавшим, а вовсю зелёным.

И, утратив скромность, одуревши в доску,
Как жену чужую, обнимал берёзку.