Contemporary Azerbaijani Poetry Rashad Majid Poems

Камран Назирли
Contemporary Azerbaijani Poetry Rashad Majid Poems
Rashad Majid
Azerbaijan


Rashad Majid is an Azerbaijani poet, a journalist, an editor and a writer. He was born in 1964, in Aghjabadi  city of the Republic of Azerbaijan. He graduated from Azerbaijan State University, Faculty of  Journalism. His first poem published in 1981 in Baku. He is the author of 10 books. His books of poems have been published in Turkey and Italy. Currently he is the Secretary of the Azerbaijani Writers" Union.


Who are you, Newborn?

Who are you, newborn?
What old century you came from?
Perhaps,
you know the world"s secret!
Speak,
tell me who am I for you?
And who you are for me?
Who are you, newborn?
Speak!
You speak,
let me know: who are you
until the Sun heat dried your
fresh memory,
until the breath of wind,
the taste of air washed out
your steaming fresh memory!

The Sun and Air
will dazzle your eyes,
and your memory will lose its colour
like a photo tape
fading in developing solution,
Until you can speak
your memory will be slipped...
Speak!
Speak, let me know
who are you, newborn?

Letter To My Old Friend

My old friend,
I have the right to tell you something
in a friendly way:
You are old,
You are worldly-wise,
you are aloft and high summit!
Sometimes
you are watchful and vigilant;
sometimes you are pettish like a child.
You are as naughty as child;
But, to speak frankly,
it is not friendly terms
what I will tell you:
To love Her -
is not the load that you bear on your back!
You should love Her
though you are jealous,
though you are upset and
fired by heart.
Though you fly into a rage,
you should love Her!
You should love Her without hesitation,
you should love Her firmly,
not feeling annoyed with Her.
You should love Her
in an insolent manner!
Not stopping!
Not waiting!
Tirelessly, without a break!
You should love Her!
Because
She loves like that!
She cares for you!
You should also be awake,
love Her watchfully!
But though you can"t care
as She cares,
You should love Her
like She is worthy of that!
To love Her - is always to be tremble with joy,
To love Her - is always to be slave!
To love Her - is to feel light as bird always though you have hard life.
It is very difficult,
very hard work,
but it is very interesting
and very sensitive job!
It is the habit that
you have to get accustomed to that,
It is the best habit in the world!
To love Her - is the best joy and happiness!
To love Her - is the best pleasure.
She loves much more Herself!
I don"t know,
maybe sometimes She loves me.
Maybe She sometimes loves you!
But,
I think She loves one
who loves Her much!
 
My Flag

I guarded you in my hard times,
I scraped you in my brain,
I tied you round my soul.
I covered you in my songs,
Reminded you looking at Moon,
I loved your star.
I was used to your three colours,
I loved your each side!

I protected you from being attacked,
I defended you from the wind and
preserved you from harm and storm!
One day
I hoisted you on my head, raised and kept!
Not bended!
Hence- forward,
I would never let you be lowered,
I awfully love you-
if my hands be tired
I will keep you with my teeth,
No one can bend you or take you away,
Wave, my Flag, flutter,
open like a sail,
let us go to Future!
Translated by Kamran Nazirli