Contemporary Azerbaijani Poetry Rustam Behrudi

Камран Назирли
Rustam Behrudi
(1957)

Rustam Behrudi (full name Behrudi Rustam Hidayat oghlu) is a popular Azerbaijani poet. He was born on September 12, 1957 in the village Behrud in Ordubad rayon of Nakhchevan. He is one of poets  who  praised the idea of Turkism in own poems. The main aim of the poems is topics such as nation, patriotism, human love, etc. Some of his poems were translated into Polish, French, Russian and Czech languages. He is the author of several books, such as Record in the Memory, Straw prayer, etc. He is a member of the Azerbaijan Writers" Union.



Hello, Gallows!

Hello, gallows!
You waited for me each day and night,
Hello, Gallows!
Aleykum-salam!
I was not born to die by doom,
Hello, Gallows,
Aleykum-salam!

Show me the Nation
whose fate is a mystery!
Show me the Nation that divided into hundred names
but again it is One and unshared!
This grief forced me to come and stand in front of you,
Hello, Gallows!
Aleykum-salam.

I saw Caspian Sea,
I saw Baykal and Aral,
I saw them injured and they were in agony of death,
I saw the God keeping Himself aloof from His creature,
Hello, Gallows!
Aleykum-salam!

The destiny plays tricks with me-
this old-woman Fate whirls the wrong way round
under the shadow of Turan"s branches.
The colours of the leaves are on my flag,
Hello, Gallows!
Aleykum-salam.


The end of beginning,
The beginning"s end,
This is what I didn"t know, I am crazy!
I am not afraid, I don"t fear,
though my neck is in the sky,
Hello, Gallows!
Aleykum-salam.
 

Speak, Amir Timur,
what was the end of life?
I am in a white shroud,
showing repentance...
You, that know your lesson back to front,
Repentance is mine!
Hello, Gallows!
Aleykum-salam!

I have planted you...
And you manage me!
Let my blood wash you, I permit!
Let your leaf turned into the pink by my blood!
Hello, Gallows!
Aleykum-salam!

You, Gallows, the Tree of narrowness!
I am inferior to none!
Either I lower you or I'll get in you!
Or I will turn into leaf on your branch!
Hello, Gallows!
Aleykum-salam.

I am girgiz,
I am ozbak,
I am qazakh and turkman,
I am bashqird and karkuk,
and I am a stranger turkic that you wait for!
Hello, Gallows!
Aleykum-salam.

Receive,
it is me - your next victim,
My body is in yours,
and be sure, I am your body!
Don"t put on haughty airs,
and don"t swagger,
All your sides are me!
Hello, Gallows!
Aleykum-salam!