На Великих Озерах

Роза Левит
 
 WASAGA BEACH  
На Великих Озёрах 




               
               










                By Roza levit







To my mother,
               
                Hanna Lapidus

























My mother, Hanna Lapidus. was born in   ;ven;ionys,  Lithuania. 
 
 84 kilometers (52 mi) north of Vilnius in Lithuania. 

She was born on the first night of Hanukkah.
This what she remembers.
According  Hebrew   calendar, that goes not only by sun but  by moon as well, the dates of the first night of Hanukkah different from year to year.

Upon arrival from concentration camp in March 1945 to her native town
Oshmana, Belarus  she  have to obtain new documents with her date of birth according the Georgian calendar.
So her day of birth was written in  passport December 9, 1923.
 My mother open a  new life  chapter of  her after war life, as  Anna Lapidus .

The family house, that  was know as famous corchma Napoleon, was located near city park,  was burned  by  German attack  during the war.
Four  of her oldest brother were murdered.
Her mother, Rachel, my grandmother, after whom I have my Hebrew name,   died in Oshmana getto.
The only  my  mother and her youngest brother, Meir survived.

As many of survivals of war, my  mother did not like to share her life before   and during the war.
 It was to painful for her. 
She choose to  embrace  a new life . 

What should I say more about my mother you will find out from pages of that  book .

I call book about my mother - Wasaga Beach, because  here on Canadian land she opens up to me with  a precious  stories about her family.
She kept them  deep down in her heart and soul.
 As a  a child feel, knew that ,  learn not to ask so many  questions .
  But there , at my house on shores of Nottawasaga Bay, she starts to talk.
Perhaps, she talk not to me , not to herself , looking on beautiful G-d creation of nature.

She  talks  to  Master of Universe himself,  remaining him about  what happens  to her family,  that she never stops loving, praying for  her own children and grandchildren. 



The heeling usually starts when person comfortable to let it go what inside of him. Canada become a healing place to my mother.
It was a safe nest for her family.
I treasure that moments, and thankful  for every  stores from her past.
I wrap them into today life of my family, preserved those stories on pages on book for  new generations. 
We are, as trees,  can not live without our roots.

 Last years of  my mother  life , I spend   summer time with her on balcony of cottage,  looking on  the best in the world Canadian sunsets . 
She loves Canada, feel safe there .

 
 
 


"На Великих Озерах"

Я могла часами сидеть с мамой на балконе,любоваться закатом, слушать музыку озерных волн,гоготанье чаек. 
В эти закатные часы,когда всё в природе замирает готовясь к ночи и на небосклоне становятся видны звёзды, серебрится диск луны,мне казалось,что я слышу саму галактику.
Мы говорили и сидели в тишине,сидели в тишине  и говорили.
 В детстве  мне не пришлось вот так проводить время с мамой.
Она всегда была занята.
И сейчас мы как бы наверствовали те давно ушедшие времена. 
Можно ли вернуть время вспять?
Согласно учению  наших мудрецов, то да .
И если это так,то как поётся в песне
- Есть только миг между прошлым и будущем...
Вот он, прямо перед мною этот миг.   
Прошлое о котором сейчас,я знаю,думает мама и будущее,которое уже спит в своих кроватках и  для которого я и пишу свои книги.
  Осознавание все этого придавало мне силы  и я, как те волны,чайки,звёзды, само солнце, летела  с Великих Канадских Озёр к реке Ошмянке,к отчиму дому,над крышей   которого уже занимался рассвет нового дня.