Эдгар Аллан По. Ворон Никогда

Виктория Терентьева 2
В полночь - мрачный час прощанья -
Гнал я мысли о страданье,
Разбирая древних знанья,
что забыты навсегда.
Шорох странный вдруг раздался
Кто-то тихо постучался
Гость ли то? Их в доме скорбном
Не бывает
Никогда.

Помню я: декабрьский вечер
был промозглым бесконечно.
Искры таяли в камине, умирая без следа
Я с тоскою ждал рассвета,
В книгах я искал ответа,
Как забыть о деве светлой,
О Линор, с кем в этом мире не увижусь.
Никогда.

Штор пурпурных трепетанье…
Страх сковал в груди дыханье,
Повторял я:
“За порогом - только ночи чернота.
Может, путник запоздалый
в дверь стучит рукой усталой!
А иные в дом печали не вернутся.
Никогда”.

Победив свои сомненья,
я шагнул навстречу тени:
“Сударь или Мэм, простите,
С приглашеньем запоздал.
Помешал мне сон глубокий
Ваш призыв услышать робкий”
Долго ждал я у порога,
Где сгущалась темнота,
Понимая, что другого не увижу.
Никогда.

Оторвать не в силах взора,
В дом вернулся я не скоро,
Душу мучила тревога и терзали холода.
Но безмолвна тьма ночная.
Без следа мой сон растаял:
“Ты ль, Линор, душа святая,
Путеводная звезда?
Слышу ль ту, с кем средь живущих
Я не встречусь
Никогда?”

Я, охваченный волненьем,
Сердца ощущал биенье
Видно, ветер злой, осенний
в ставни кинул горсткой льда
Нет ни призрака, ни тайны
Не зашел и гость случайный
Никого мне здесь не встретить,
Не увидеть
Никогда!

Приоткрыл слегка я ставни.
Вихрь ворвался своенравный.
Величавый черный Ворон
вместе с ним вошел сюда
без приветствия крылатый
гость взлетел на бюст Паллады,
там застыв. Такого дива
Не встречал я.
Никогда.

Я невольно рассмеялся.
Вот кто в дверь мою стучался!
Птица в трауре извечном,
молчалива и горда.
“Гребень твой весьма забавный.
Напугал меня ты славно
Как зовут тебя в той бездне,
что прислала к нам сюда?”
Ворон молвил:
“Никогда!”

Тот ответ был прост и ясен.
Гость, хоть обликом ужасен,
Разогнал на время горе
без усилья, без труда.
Видно, это не случайно,
что пришел посланник тайный
Есть ли смысл в его приходе?
Не узнать мне
Никогда!

Ворон этот, страж суровый,
видно знал одно лишь слово
Я вздохнул в порыве грусти:
Как надежда, как мечта,
Как друзья забав минувших,
прошлое перечеркнувших, так и он меня оставит
и исчезнет без следа
Молвил Ворон:
“Никогда!”

Вздрогнул я. Так точно слово
прозвучало. Был суров он.
Может, от тепла людского улетел,
и темнота
Поглотила то созданье,
что слыхало на прощанье
приговор иль предвещанье -
Страшный клёкот:
“Никогда!”

Рассмеялся я. У двери,
сел в раздумьях о потере
О сомненьях, о неверье,
что скрывает суета.
Что же значит окрик властный?
Кто ты есть, мой гость ненастный,
Что принес в глухую полночь
Слово злое:
“Никогда!”

Так сидел я в размышленьях,
но не мог понять значенья.
Время шло, сгущались тени,
Воцарялась темнота…
Как сомкнуть мне нынче очи?
Видно, Ворон напророчил,
То, что сердце знать не хочет:
Не вернется.
Никогда!

Вдруг почувствовал во мраке -
были ль ангелов то знаки? -
воскурились фимиамы,
На мгновенье пустота
В моем сердце растворилась
Вновь надежда возродилась,
Что Господь пошлет мне милость,
Что забудется беда…
Ворон молвил:
Никогда!

"Ты пророк!" - я в страхе крикнул.
- “Злой ли рок меня настигнул?
Рай тебя ли в чёрный час мой
или ад прислал сюда
Расскажи душе ты в горе -
Ждет ль с Линор свиданье вскоре?
встречусь ли с душой святою,
без которой жизнь пуста?
Ворон молвил:
“Никогда!”

"Злобный дух, исчадье мрака!”
Я сказал, дрожа от страха -
Те слова - прощанья знаки,
сгинь, проклятый, без следа
Перестань мне душу ранить,
раз былого не исправить
Улетай! Пора оставить
дом мой скорбный навсегда
Молвил Ворон:
“Никогда!”

С той поры зловещий Ворон
все сидит, угрюм и черен,
Без движения, без вскрика,
как ожившая беда.
Словно демон из кошмара,
словно ада злая кара
Сон приводит злые чары…
день за днем, бегут года...
И душе моей погибшей
не воскреснуть.
Никогда!



The Raven

             Once upon a midnight dreary, while I pondered,
                weak and weary,
             Over many a quaint and curious volume of forgotten
                lore -
             While I nodded, nearly napping, suddenly there came
                a tapping,
             As of some one gently rapping, rapping at my
                chamber door -
             '"Tis some visiter", I muttered, "tapping at my chamber
                door -
                Only this and nothing more."

             Ah, distinctly I remember it was in the bleak December;
             And each separate dying ember wrought its ghost
                upon the floor.
             Eagerly I wished the morrow; - vainly I had sought
                to borrow
             From my books surcease of sorrow - sorrow for
                the lost Lenore -
             For the rare and radiant maiden whom the angels
                name Lenore -
                Nameless _here_ for evermore.

             And the silken, sad, uncertain rustling of each purple
                curtain
             Thrilled me - filled me with fantastic terrors never
                felt before;
             So that now, to still the beating of my heart, I stood
                repeating
             "Tis some visiter entreating entrance at my chamber
                door -
             Some late visiter entreating entrance at my chamber
                door; -
                This it is and nothing more."

             Presently my soul grew stronger; hesitating then no
                longer,
             "Sir", said I, "or Madam, truly your forgiveness
                I implore;
             But the fact is I was napping, and so gently you came
                rapping,
             And so faintly you came tapping, tapping at my
                chamber door,
             That I scarce was sure I heard you" - here I opened
                wide the door; -
                Darkness there and nothing more.

             Deep into that darkness peering, long I stood there
                wondering, fearing,
             Doubting, dreaming dreams no mortal ever dared
                to dream before;
             But the silence was unbroken, and the stillness gave
                no token,
             And the only word there spoken was the whispered
                word, "Lenore?"
             This I whispered, and an echo murmured back the
                word, "Lenore!"
                Merely this and nothing more.

             Back into the chamber turning, all my soul within me
                burning,
             Soon again I heard a tapping somewhat louder than
                before.
             "Surely", said I, "surely that is something at my
                window lattice;
             Let me see, then, what thereat is, and this mystery
                explore -
             Let my heart be still a moment and this mystery
                explore; -
                'Tis the wind and nothing more!"

             Open here I flung the shutter, when, with many a flirt
                and flutter,
             In there stepped a stately Raven of the saintly days
                of yore;
             Not the least obeisance made he; not a minute stopped
                or stayed he;
             But, with mien of lord or lady, perched above my
                chamber door -
             Perched upon a bust of Pallas just above my chamber
                door -
                Perched, and sat, and nothing more.

             Then this ebony bird beguiling my sad fancy into
                smiling,
             By the grave and stern decorum of the countenance
                it wore,
             "Though thy crest be shorn and shaven, thou", I said,
                "art sure no craven,
             Ghastly grim and ancient Raven wandering from
                the Nightly shore -
             Tell me what thy lordly name is on the Night's
                Plutonian shore!"
                Quoth the Raven "Nevermore."

             Much I marvelled this ungainly fowl to hear discourse
                so plainly,
             Though its answer little meaning - little relevancy
                bore;
             For we cannot help agreeing that no living human
                being
             Ever yet was blessed with seeing bird above his
                chamber door -
             Bird or beast upon the sculptured bust above his
                chamber door,
                With such name as "Nevermore."


             But the Raven, sitting lonely on the placid bust, spoke
                only
             That one word, as if his soul in that one word he did
                outpour.
             Nothing farther then he uttered - not a feather then
                he fluttered -
             Till I scarcely more than muttered "Other friends have
                flown before -
             On the morrow _he_ will leave me, as my Hopes have
                flown before."
                Then the bird said "Nevermore."

             Startled at the stillness broken by reply so aptly
                spoken,
             "Doubtless", said I, "what it utters is its only stock
                and store
             Caught from some unhappy master whom unmerciful
                Disaster
             Followed fast and followed faster till his songs one
                burden bore -
             Till the dirges of his Hope that melancholy burden bore
                Of 'Never - nevermore.'"

             But the Raven still beguiling my sad fancy into
                smiling,
             Straight I wheeled a cushioned seat in front of bird,
                and bust and door;
             Then, upon the velvet sinking, I betook myself
                to linking
             Fancy unto fancy, thinking what this ominous bird
                of yore -
             What this grim, ungainly, ghastly, gaunt, and ominous
                bird of yore
                Meant in croaking "Nevermore."

             Thus I sat engaged in guessing, but no syllable
                expressing
             To the fowl whose fiery eyes now burned into my
                bosom's core;
             This and more I sat divining, with my head at ease
                reclining
             On the cushion's velvet lining that the lamp-light
                gloated o'er,
             But whose velvet-violet lining with the lamp-light
                gloating o'er,
                _She_ shall press, ah, nevermore!

             Then, methought, the air grew denser, perfumed from
                an unseen censer
             Swung by seraphim whose foot-falls tinkled on the
                tufted floor.
             "Wretch", I cried, "thy God hath lent thee - by these
                angels he hath sent thee
             Respite - respite and nepenthe from thy memories
                of Lenore;
             Quaff, oh quaff this kind nepenthe and forget this lost
                Lenore!"
                Quoth the Raven "Nevermore."

             "Prophet!" said I, "thing of evil! - prophet still,
                if bird or devil! -
             Whether Tempter sent, or whether tempest tossed thee
                here ashore
             Desolate yet all undaunted, on this desert land
                enchanted -
             On this home by Horror haunted - tell me truly, I
                implore -
             Is there - is there balm in Gilead? - tell me -
                tell me, I implore!"
                Quoth the Raven "Nevermore."

             "Prophet!" said I, "thing of evil! - prophet still, if bird
                or devil!
             By that Heaven that bends above us - by that
                God we both adore -
             Tell this soul with sorrow laden if, within the distant
                Aidenn,
             It shall clasp a sainted maiden whom the angels
                name Lenore -
             Clasp a rare and radiant maiden whom the angels
                name Lenore."
                Quoth the Raven "Nevermore."

             "Be that word our sign of parting, bird or fiend!"
                I shrieked, upstarting -
             "Get thee back into the tempest and the Night's
                Plutonian shore!
             Leave no black plume as a token of that lie thy soul
                hath spoken!
             Leave my loneliness unbroken! - quit the bust above
                my door!
             Take thy beak from out my heart, and take thy form
                from off my door!"
                Quoth the Raven "Nevermore."

             And the Raven, never flitting, still is sitting, still is
                sitting
             On the pallid bust of Pallas just above my chamber
                door;
             And his eyes have all the seeming of a demon's that
                is dreaming,
             And the lamp-light o'er him streaming throws his
                shadow on the floor;
             And my soul from out that shadow that lies floating
                on the floor
                Shall be lifted - nevermore!

             (1844-1849)