Young in the USSR

Татьяна Мишурова
When I was a little girl
My friends and I went to the steppe
And we took with us potatoes and matches.
We wanted to bake potatoes on the fire
But the steppe caught fire.
We tried to put out the fire
And our clothes were burned.

When I was young in the USSR
My schoolfriends and I went to the farm
We worked on a farm and picked tomatoes
But we used tomatoes to throw them at each other
And our clothes were dirty in tomatoes.

When I was young in the USSR
My friends and I went to the farm to steal corn.
To get to the cornfield we jumped over the creek
But sometimes we fell there
And our clothes were wet.

When I was young in the USSR
My friends and I went to the steppe to pick tulips
We picked big bouguets for home,
But we got lost
And we came to the Military Base.