Spoons, spoon 1

Þðèé ßêèìàéíåí
Spoon 1


Before military training exercises spoons disappear from soldier’s canteen. On nature, in the mess-tins food seems to be more delicious and every person needs a spoon. After war games one can’t find a single spoon at all. One half of spoons as lost at forests, fields, ravines, trenches; another half soldiers hide and take with them.

     Our commanders are angry, they send their orders: “Put spoons on tables! We will count them and buy same more”. It is nice. It is better then buying new spoons for all regiment. Soldiers understand this, but… they don’t  put their spoons on the tables soon. “Why? – everybody  thinks…  For example, tomorrow I’ll go to canteen and  once more will no spoons? When they are buying it?..  What shell I do? I’ll  have to be eat porridge by my arms?”…

     One day our battalion came to the canteen. The colonel himself was standing near the entrance. We reported him that we were ready for dinner and started entering the canteen. Colonel saw me and sad:
 
 - Have you a spoon?
 - No, I have not, comrade colonel!
 - I don’t believe you…
 - No, I have no spoon!

     I could not understand why did he change me? May be he disliked my face… We entered the canteen, began eating. I did not notice him coming me…

 -I remember you, my dear, - said colonel, - Ten days of the Guard House!..