Bonjour, Paris!

Âåðà Ïîëÿíèíà
                I

    Last year I was on holidays on the Black Sea coast. Walking in the forest near the little and picturesque town of Khosta I lost my way.

    Undoubtedly it  happened because of  a recent parting with my boyfriend Boris.
I wanted to distract myself  from that sad love story and mental anguish. It was a strong  fresh wound. I had such a pain inside which made me suffer too much. Since he had left me my life seemed to be dire.
    Thinking of him I didn’t notice how much time I stayed in the forest.  I thought whole eternity had passed by. The place was hilly. I tried to find my way back but in vain.
    My telephone didn’ t work and  I couldn’t call to my hotel to ask for help. Such an absurd situation made me feel helpless. I thought I would never find the way!
    I was so deep in thought that I didn’t notice the dark clouds which had gathered overhead. When the first heavy drops of rain began to fall,I looked up in surprise and hurried towards a place where I could seek for some shelter.
    The soft dry ground with grass slowed me down , so I started running on hard ground without grass to the open place in the forest. Before I had gone some  metres, though, I suddenly felt myself sinking into the mud.
    Within seconds I had sunk in up to my waist. The rain had stopped but I realized to my horror that I had stepped into swamp. When I tried to move, the mud pulled me deeper and water was coming in! The mud with water soon covered my chest, and continued to rise. “Help!” I shouted desperately. “Help! I am going to drown!”
    Fortunately, a woman was gathering mushrooms and flowers, not far from that place. She heard my cries. By the time she reached me I was in real danger. She grabbed my arms, pulled me out of the swamp and helped me to safety. I was so relieved to have escaped that I couldn’t say a word.
    She took me by the hand, led me quickly out of the forest to the road, caught a taxi and giving money to a driver asked him to bring me to my hotel. I was so shocked that I even didn’t have time to thank her!
    After what had happened I realized that unsuccessful love wasn’t the worst thing that could happen to someone. I was glad to be alive, and felt sure that everything would be all right in the end.




                II

    The next day I went to the beach of my hotel “Green Khosta” to relax under the sweet southern sun . It was early morning, the sea was calm and clean, two dolphins were playing in blue transparent water. The weather was wonderful and there were no clouds in the sky. The life was nice again.
   
    On the beach I saw the woman who helped me to get out of the swamp. She was svelte attractive woman with distinctive features and wavy  brown hair. She was typing something in her notebook sitting at a small camp-table under a parasol. I came to her and said,
    – It was so nice of you to help me! Thank you very much! You saved my  life!
    – Oh, don’t mention it, dear! Everyone can do this in such situation. –  She said with a kind smile.
    – I came here 2 days ago and, as usual, I began my travel with adventure, I mean the swamp! – I exclaimed and continued,
    – By the way, my name is Anna and I am from Moscow. And what about you?
    – Glad to meet you, Anna! I am Elena. Soon I am going to remove from Siberia to Moscow to live there. Do you like adventures, Anna?
    – Yes, I do. But not of that sort.
    –  I wonder how comes that you have fallen into the swamp!
    – Oh, it’s a sad story… A month ago I was sent by my administration to a business trip .
I had to spend two weeks there but I could arrange the things within one week. So,I returned home in a week.
I should say that my boyfriend Boris had keys of my apartment.
Well, it was evening when I came home…
Just imagine that I enter my apartment , switch on the light, take off my coat and see the open door of my bedroom where my boyfriend is making love to a woman!
Oh, it was monstrous! He betrayed me in my apartment, in my beautiful comfortable bedroom, just on my cosy bed with a dirty prostitute! Of course, I turned them out! Leaving my apartment he said,
“I knew that you do not have a sense of adventure!" I was in shock after his words. I fell into the swamp because the thoughts about my broken love didn’t leave me and made me think about him too much.
     – Oh, it’s really sad and now I understand why you have got into the swamp.
Anyway, it’s good that your unfortunate love story has already finished. You are young, pretty, free, full of energy. Sure you will meet another successful love in your life.
     – Thank you for your inspiring words, Elena. I love your optimism. I would like us to become friends. Let’s swim a bit before breakfast, the water is warm and calm but… you are typing something in your notebook… It’s shame to be busy on such a wonderful day!
     – Well, I think it’s a good idea, however I should finish the 1st part of my story before breakfast… – she said.
     – Are you a writer? – I asked her with curiosity. She smiled and answered,
     – No, I just try to become a writer of short stories!
     – Do you have any experience in writing short stories, Elena?
     – Of course not, this is my first attempt.
     – Well, let me say…I work as a journalist in Moscow and I understand the process and I also realise there is an effort required for the execution of the idea!
     – As for me I am an economist in one company. However I can write compositions rather well and I am dreaming of writing short stories! – Elena exclaimed affectionately.
     – And what are you going to write about? – I asked her thoughtfully.
     – Something about  life of ordinary people. Have a look. This is the beginning of the story. – I looked through her notes and said,
     – I think beginning the way you described is quite brilliant ... May be sometimes you leave a story with an “open ending”.
     – Thank you for your useful advice, Anna. And I hope you will continue giving me your accompaniment in writing stories while you are here.
     – Ok, I agree! I think your story must have all the factors of a novel but shorter with fewer and less developed characters. You should make each word more relevant. And when are you going to finish your little story, I wonder? – I asked her.
     – I think I will write it in three or five days. – She answered and went away.
I looked after her with mistrustful smile.
     Five days passed and after breakfast I saw Elena in the yard of the hotel sitting on a bench. She waved her hand  inviting me to sit down next to her. She gave  some papers to me and said triumphly.
     – This is my story, read it and then tell me what you think.





                III

          Here there is a story…
     I will be never able to forget those magic moments when I have met in Paris my future fiance William from America.
His ancestors were originally from the UK, Holland and Denmark.
I think he inherited the best features of them. He was tall with brown eyes, straight nose, noble features of the face and I enjoyed watching his manner of wearing his white hat.
     Most of all I liked him wearing a white summer suit and black-white shoes. His generosity, patience, kindness, tenderness, sweetness were unlimited. William effected indelible impression on me with his education, intellect, intelligence, way of behaviour and communication.
He was open, communicative, frank, caring.
     I was, on contrary, reserved, reticent. However I was sincere, a bit eccentric and romantic inside. He made me believe in happiness.
He was a man who was able to inspire me with brilliant ideas and in his embraces I would spend all my life!
     But let me begin my description step by step…
Well…two years ago,at the end of July, in the morning, I arrived to Beauvais-Tillå Paris Airport from Moscow.
The airport was located on a distance of 85 kilometres from Paris just to the north. It was a low but comfortable building where you could see lots of stalls with souvenirs and some small cafes.
     When our group of tourists from Moscow left the building of the airport we saw a bus not far from the entrance waiting for us.
     From our guide we got to know that it took about one hour and half to go to Paris. From the windows of the bus a wonderful view of ancient buildings of a Medieval style in suburban area of Paris was opening and I saw some people of African complexion walking with their children along the streets.There were no any people of European complexion there at all. 
     The guide described us the most interesting tourist routes in Paris and added that we had to protect our handbags from thieves on motorcycles while walking on the pavements or crossing the streets.
     To the accompaniment of our guide’s voice saying, “Paris is famous for its landmarks like the Eiffel Tower, but there are also many other landmarks that are world renowned like the Champs-Elysees for its shopping, fashion and culture, along with its history, you will never be without somewhere to go or something to do in Paris…”, I was dreaming of famous museums, Art Gallaries, Eiffel Tower on the Champ de Mars, Arc de Triumphe, Notre Dame Cathedral, the Champs-Elysees Avenue, Moulin Rouge, Chateau de Versailles, the Louvre, Place de la Bastille…
     At last I arrived to my hotel Riviera which was next to the Metro Anvers, Gran Opera and Montmartre on the quite little street.
     It was a three star hotel situated in the 9th Arrondissement of Paris. The weather was wonderful, sunny, +27, perfect for walking and visiting places of interest. I thought,
     – This cant’t be real, it must be a dream that I am in Paris!
I was happy to be there in Paris and I just loved that part of the city and I exclaimed,
     – Bonjour, Paris! I want to step out down the Champs-;lys;es, from the  Arch of Triumph to the Petit Palais!




                IV

     Two days I spent walking in the centre of the city visiting the Champs-Elysees Avenue with its Arc de Triumphe, Montmartre, Eiffel Tower, and Galeries Lafayette, a huge luxury department store with beautiful dome ceiling situated on Boulevard Haussmann.
     There was a great variety of high quality woolen skirts, leather jackets and designer clothes there. That’s what I liked!
However my education and rules of good tone didn’t allow me to hurry and I was walking slowly to the section of skirts when I saw three tall women speaking in English next to the counter of skirts looking over skirts and shaking them.
     They looked so excited seeing lots of skirts for sale. They were gesticulating and discussing in a loud voice the low price of the skirts. One of them run up to me and exclaimed joyfully,
     – Look! There are nice skirts for sale here! They are so cheap! – I was confused and a bit surprised at the same time and I just said,
     – Thank you  – And continued walking.

     On the third day after lunch in one Italian restaurant I visited my favourite Montmartre, saw the sights of the area and took photos there.
I was impressed with the majestic view of a Cathedral in Byzantine style and paintings of street artists.
The Parisians were charming! They were frank, friendly, helpful, cheerful. It was pleasant to communicate with them. Their generosity was unlimited!

     At six pm I decided to enter the Internet to send some mails to my collegues and friends. There wasn’t a computer room in my hotel and I had to look for any Internet cafe close by my hotel.
I came to the nearest restaurant on the corner of the street, had supper there and then asked the owner about the Internet cafe.
     The owner was a tall man of  Indian nationality with a kind smile. He showed me the way to the Internet cafe pointing to the nearest square. Then looking attentively at my beautiful black handbag made in Italy he informed me about possible robber attack on the opposite side of the square,
    – I think you have euros, jewelleries and documents in your handbag, so, please, be careful with all your things.
    Crossing the centre of the square I saw a beautiful monument of light green colour in memory of the Marshal of France, Alphonse Juin. Some teenagers were sitting on the pedestal of the statue dangling with their feet and talking.
    I came to the opposite side of the square and not far from the corner of the street Rue Godefroy I saw two sunburnt men who pretended not to look at me… but they did.
Their behaviour was suspicious and I recalled the restaurant owner’s words. However I decided to continue my way and saw a board above one of the doors where it was written “Internet cafe”.
I entered the cafe and found out that it was rather dark there. I sat down at one of the computers but seeing only French letters on the finger board I stood up at the same time and went to the entrance.
A fat tall man of African complexion detained me next to the entrance demanding to pay the cashier for the work on computer.
I explained him that I couldn’t work because I didn’t know French and he let me pass.
At the entrance of the Internet cafe those two men made an attempt to pull my handbag out. I frightened to death and took to my heels.
One of the men pulled my handbag out of my hands however I had time to bend and  grab his right leg.
He didn’t expect this, lost the balance and fell down on the asphalt. Falling down on the pavement he dropped my handbag and I grabbed it quickly!
I was running trying to reach the edge of the square. I kept in my mind that on the other side of the square I would be in a safety zone.
But the other man rushed to me cutting the way. Suddenly a stranger appeared between the robber and me. He knocked the robber out, grabbed my hand and shouted in English,
    – Let's run! Quickly!
We ran along some metres to his bike but unexpectedly another two men blocked up the way and we had to run into the nearest door of the building.
The men followed us.
We climbed upstairs and rushed into the open door of some room…
It was a crumped narrow store-room without any window.
We shut the door of the store-room not to be noticed by our chasers .
The space was so narrow , it was dark and cold there that we had to embrace each other tightly.
I was trembling with cold and fear and he gave a sweet kiss on my forehead like a mother who wanted to calm her little child.
I didn’t know why but I kissed his chin…and then we started kissing and cuddling each other tenderly.
I felt extraordinary trust towards him He was so romantic, so tender, so sweet!
Obviously it was a “chemistry” between us!
    – It’s too good to be true! – I thought at that moment.
In some minutes  the entrance door was shut with crash and we didn’t hear the noise of robbers’ feet in the corridor of the office any more. All around was quiet and we understood that we could leave our shelter.
    – By the way, I think it’s time to introduce myself. I’m William from the USA.I came to Paris with the purpose of travelling. –  The stranger said going out of the store-room and helping me to go out of such a tight place.
    – Oh, what a coincidence! I have the same purpose, William! Glad to meet you! And I’m Helen from Russia.I love France and Paris, – I answered.
We looked at each other with amazement and began laughing merrily.
We decided to leave the building from the other side using the fire-escape not to face with the robbers.
We went downstairs using the fire-escape and we could get to another side of the building and the street.
But taking some steps we saw those two robbers again and they saw us. We were running as fast as could be.
Fortunately, the Police car appeared from behind the corner.
The robbers stopped chasing us and ran away.
We could come to my hotel by taxi.
During our trip by taxi we were silent. I wanted to say what emotions overfilled my heart, how much I liked him …but I was not able to say any word.
    – May be he is married and his wife is waiting for him in a hotel… May be our kisses and embraces mean nothing for him… – I was meditating silently in a taxi sitting so close to him.
    At the front door of my hotel I thanked my savior, he smiled back and we parted without saying a word.
In my room I undressed impatiently, took a bath and went to sleep. In bed I was turning from one side to another. My body was in fire…I couldn’t sleep…
    – Is it possible we will never meet again? Why? But why hasn’t he asked for a number of my telephone? I even do not know where he lives, oh..! However he knows where I live…
    The indignation was overcoming my mind but a memory about a pleasure which I experienced in his embraces in a store-room made me thrill with delight again.
I revived in my mind his words which he had whispered on my ear in the darkness of the store-room,
    – You are created for love and happiness…





                V

On the forth day after breakfast I planned to go on an excursion to the Louvre. I came downstairs to the hall of the hotel and… Oh! What a joy! I saw William sitting on an armchair of the hall and smiling to me. I couldn’t hide my joy, I was so happy! He approached to me immediately and kissed my hand. He showed me his bike next to the entrance and said that he would like to visit the Louvre with me if I agreed. He offered a seat on the bike in front of him.
– It’s surprising that our tastes coincide! – I thought.
I liked our trip by bike because my long hair were flutting and covering his face. He couldn’t see the road and had to lean his face against my neck, holding my flutting hair and when sometimes the road wasn’t plain his lips were touching softly and kissing my neck with tenderness. It was an unforgettable “adventure”!
Visitors could enter the Louvre in two ways: across a Big Piramid or a Metro station “Palais Royal – Musee du Louvre”. We used a Big Piramid to enter the museum. The collection of the painting is a base of this museum but the Mona Lisa or La Gioconda is always in the centre of attention. It’s a half-length portrait painting by the Italian Renaissance artist Leonardo da Vinci that has been described as the best known, the most visited, the most written about, the most sung about, the most parodied work of art in the world. We came to the portrait. William was behind me and I was enjoying with that silent expression of my feelings. I wanted him to touch my skin, I was desiring his kiss on my neck which would plunge me into delight. We were examining closely in silence that famous picture when William wispered on my ear,
 – You are wonderful! If I were an artist I would paint your portrait too! – I was listening his loving words with pleasure…
Walking along the enormous halls I noticed that William was interested in architecture and painting. He told me that he was a professional architect.
After visiting the Louvre William invited me to have supper in a restaurant of the Eiffel Tower on the Champ de Mars constructed by French engineer Gustave Eiffel in 1889. It was initially criticized by some of French leading artists and intellectuals for its design, but later it has become a global cultural icon of France and one of the most recognisable structures in the world. We came to the same place where the famous French writer Guy de Maupassant ate lunch everyday, because that was the only place in Paris from which he could not see it …
I informed William about my excursion with a group of tourists for the next morning. and he invited me to visit a salsa club “Barrio Latino” in the evening. He told,
– This club located near the Bastille in Paris is a great place to dance and have a nice time there. There are three tiers of wooden balconies, velvet sofas and armchairs, chandeliers and a staircase. It’s pretty special. Floor is very smooth and well polished, the atmosphere is great. This was one of my favorite places in Paris to enjoy a night some years ago. – Keeping silence a bit he asked,
– Try to put on Cuban clothes if you can!
Fortunately, in my suitcase I had a skirt, a white blouse and sandals on heels in Caribbean style.
The party in “Barrio Latino” was splendid, William had a pirate costume and a hat on. We danced salsa, cha cha cha, mamba, rumba, samba without getting tired! We kissed and embraced each other with tenderness and he whispered on my ear,
– I don’t want to set the world on fire, I just want to set a flame in your heart!
There were lots of people from some countries of  Latin America there who spoke Spanish. The staff of the club were Cubans too. I discovered that William knew Spanish. It was great that we could speak Spanish all the time communicating with other people there. We were invited by other people to dance. William became a star of dances among guests of the club because he danced wonderfully and got a prize.
This multi-story club with wrought iron ceilings, dimly light red lighting (which made everyone look better) and velvet ceilings gave it a rich, warm feeling to me. Music was great: a mix of Latin Jazz, Mambo, Boogaloo, Pachanga… We had a fantastic time there. I will miss this place! At 5 am William took a taxi and accompanied me to my hotel,
– I suppose you will be spending most of the day recuperating after our party and in the evening I propose to go on an excursion to my hotel where we will have a nice time in a Jazz Club Lionel Hampton and where we will enjoy another dances.





                VI

After lunch a messenger boy brought to my hotel a big cardboard box from William. There was an elegant small black dress and black lacquered shoes on low heels there. In the evening William appeared in front of me in a white summer suite and white hat on. I couldn’t take my eyes off him and he kept his eyes glued on me… The situation was a bit comic but I was enjoying his eyes staring on me so much and in my head it was sounding the melody of a song “I love You, Baby”. William had broken a silence putting so beautiful round gold earrings on my ears,
– This is what you need to complete the sight, darling! And I think you are ready to dance rock-and-roll, charlstone, tango, twist, etc. – He smiled and kissed me sweetly.
 Jazz Club Lionel Hampton was a popular and very famous Jazz Club with a modern design. I was surprised to see so many people. The singer was amazing, her voice was stunning; so clear and powerful.
Our first drinks with the price of our entry. The atmosphere was moody and dark. I have to say, the service was not very good. It took several minutes for a waitress to notice us; well after we started waving our arms. Then it took several minutes to get the menu; then several minutes to get our drinks. But, I didn’t think anyone minded because the singing was so good. A definite place for a night club and wonderful music such as : “On the sunny side of the street”, “I love You, Baby”, “May be”, “Bonjour Paris”, “Strangers in the night”, “Tango Por Una Cabeza”, “ I don’t want to set the world on fire”, etc.
William’s art and ability of dancing amazed me and everyone around. He demonstrated original style, balance, energetic movements, elegant method of jazz walk and turns. My experience of dancing with William under music “May be” in his embraces was unforgettable. He was leading and cuddling me carefully and sweetly, sometimes hugging ardently… Oh! There were magic moments in my life! I so want those moments to return to my life again! He was so intelligent, tender, understanding, polite, generous, enthusiastic, adventurous, brave, smart, witty, humourous! He looked like a   hero from Hollywood films! In my heart I had but one desire and that one was he no other would…
At the party we were talking about our preferences in music. I found out that he loved and knew Russian classic music and literature as well. One of his favourite composers was Rachmaninoff. William could play the piano and he suggested to visit his apartment in that hotel to listen to his playing the piano. His apartment was rather spacious with big windows in Italian style and a polished parquet floor. There was a white grand piano in the corner of the living room, some armchairs, a cupboard and a sofa. Next to the grand piano there was a wide entrance to the bedroom. All around looked
luxuriously. William invited me to take place in a comfortable cosy armchair and ordered on phone some snacks, fruit and tea with lemon for me .Then he sat down at the piano and began playing and singing the song ”All by myself”. His voice was pleasant, it plunged me into unknown sensations muddling my mind… I came to my senses when he said to me,
– Do you know that the music for this power ballad  by American artist Eric Carmen is based on the second movement (Adagio sostenuto) of Sergei Rachmani-noff’s’ Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Opus 18?
– Oh, it’s a curious information for me and I noticed Americans are fond of Russian classic music using it in some their famous musical hits… – I murmured in a low, sleepy voice…
He stared at me in amazement…





                VII

I opened my eyes because the curtains were drawn apart and the sun was shining directly through the window into my face awaking me.
I felt I had a very good sleep. I stretched myself in the bed looking around and suddenly I realized that I was not in my bed, in my room and, in general, I was not in my hotel! I was in William’s hotel, in his bed!
– Oh! What a shame! How did I get into his bed? – I started recalling the events preceding to my sleep trying to find excuses and justification for such situation,
– First, I didn’t use to visit night clubs, I had a habit to go to bed on time. Second, I was sleepy and tired after the whole night party. Third… the armchair was so cosy and comfortable, that I couldn’t stand and fell asleep in it straight away. But… I don’t understand  how I’ve got into his bed!
After all those thoughts I remembered about my tomorrow flight to Moscow.
I jumped out of bed and at that moment William entered the bedroom. Seeing me undressed he turned away from me. I grabbed my clothes and started dressing myself quickly. Without looking at me William explained how he put me to bed with the help of a chambermaid. He said that he went to sleep to another apartment not to bother me and continued,
– I would be happy if you accepted my invitation to have lunch with me, please.
– But I can’t! I am flying to Moscow tomorrow! I should be in my hotel at the meeting of our group with a guide to get information about a ticket and a bus to the airport!
– Tomorrow? To Moscow? – He asked thoughtfully,
– Well… so yes… you should be there… of course. – And without any objection he ordered a taxi for me.
I could come to the meeting with our guide in time and then after all those worries about the flight and the ticket I thought that may be I was too hasty. I didn’t say any words of farewell to him… I even didn’t know his phone number. However I could find his Le Meridien Etoile Hotel which was within a short walk of bustling Champs ;lys;es Avenue, Place de la Concorde and the Arc de Triomphe.
– Is it possible that we will not meet before my departure to Moscow? What to do? What if  I come to his hotel? But what will I say to him? – I asked myself. I had to admit that he became an important part of my existence, that he came into my life, that I can’t live without him! – Teardrops were falling from my eyes…



                VIII

I got to William’s hotel on foot. On reception they said he was out. That last day in Paris I decided to spend walking on the bank of the river Seine where there was Alain Delon’s apartment in one of the houses and where, accoding to the words of our guide,he liked to sit in the improvised garden on the roof of the house enjoying the view of the river Seine; where there were lots of boat houses with people who lived there on the river. I also visited some shops to buy souvenirs for my friends. The next day I had to leave my favourite Paris, the city of “The three musketeers” from my childhood. The sun was descending in the west when I thought,
– May be to visit William’s hotel again? Of course I can catch him there now! Oh, no! Oh, yes! Well…I just want to say “Good bye!” – I was persuading myself. Could you imagine my astonishment when coming to his hotel I found out that he had left the hotel? I realized that I lost my last hope to see him some day…
In the morning after breakfast our touristic bus was waiting for our group of tourists next to the hotel. I expected that may be William would come but in vain…he didn’t come. The bus drove us to Paris Charles de Gaulle Airport (in French: A;roport de Paris-Charles-de-Gaulle), the largest international airport in France and the second largest in Europe. It is named after Charles de Gaulle (1890–1970), leader of the Free French Forces during the Second World War, founder of the French Fifth Republic and President of France from 1959 to 1969. Charles de Gaulle Airport is located within 25 km to the northeast of Paris and we got there rather fast. Deep inside of my soul I was saying farewell words to William and to Paris…
It was spacious in a saloon of the plane and there were some empty seats. During the flight I was so deep in thought that I didn’t notice that someone sat down next to me. I turned my head and saw…William! He was smiling sweetly,
– Was it a dream? No, that couldn’t be real! But it was he, my darling William, a Dream of my whole life!
It was impossible to describe my joy and happiness seeing him and I fell into his arms ! We were flying to Moscow, we were flying to our future together!

               
   


                Epilogue

On these words the story was broken.
I wanted to read the continuation of the story.
I started looking for Elena everywhere but in vain. I felt myself disappointed and a bit upset.
I went to the beach but she was not there either.
From our common friends of the hotel I got to know that she urgently had to fly to Moscow.
On the reception I got a letter from Elena where it was written her phone number.
She also informed me that she hoped to meet me in Moscow.