The stairs of desires

Ãëåá Êàðïèíñêèé
It’s not so long since it happened; passing by town N, I met a pretty woman called Mariya. She was beautiful, intelligent, neat and with a kind soul. And what did this woman need for happiness? But in her soulful feminine look I caught the notes of sadness and longing for what was gone forever, and we started talking. Having known that I was interested in all magical and surprising in the feminine nature of passions, she childishly clapped her hands from joy and, for the first time, told me about the stairs of desires. I do not even know, why Mariya took a liking to me and why she placed confidence in me of all people, but one day in the New Year Eve I decided to drop in at her place to make sure in the existing of these stairs.

I won’t torment you, dear reader, with the details of that unusual, in my view, story, I only will try to describe it briefly and without embellishment. So, the magic stairs existed and now is likely to exist for those few lucky ones, like me, and no-obligation travelers.

It should be noted, that Mariya had been a widow more than 10 years, her children had grown up and were studding somewhere abroad. She inherited from her husband the respect in the town and the most beautiful building of the late 19th century with white, as ivory, columns and ornate mezzanine. At one time that house belonged to some tsar's person, or to some prince, and preserved all the attributes of a noble style. It fitted in well with the overall ensemble of the town park, but later it was successfully bought out by her enterprising husband and got an independent status. Nearby there was a city park and a small picturesque pond on which swans and ducks swam. In winter that pond was frozen, and the local people came here to skate. There was always sounded cheerful music there; and then, at holiday time, the Christmas tree was sparkling and shining.

Every evening the hostess of the house Mariya walked her dog before going to bed. It was a large male dog in the prime of life, the champion of champions, an elite Central Asian Shepherd Dog, with the cropped ears, with a heavy toothy muzzle and a distrustful look to everyone who risked to get acquainted with its hostess. And yet, some people managed to have a talk with a lady, to give a compliment, to flirt with her. And imagine their surprise, when the woman reciprocated their feelings and even promised minutes of passionate embrace right across the street, if anybody, of course, could dare to enter her bedroom unafraid Woldemar. She deliberately left the door open.

Her bedchamber was situated on the upper floor and overlooked that beautiful pond. A gallant, a potential lover had to pretend to be a carelessly walking passerby and wait for a special signal. On the upper floor, the light would come on, the green curtain would close; and you could see a beautiful female silhouette, combing her thick gorgeous hair in front of the mirror and unhooking her bra before going to sleep, and the silhouette of a huge dog, lying next to her on the bed, lazily yawning now and then and wagging the stub of the tail. And then a daredevil would enter the house, carefully looking around, mechanically or thanks to education, wipe his shoes on the Persian rug at a door, not to leave marks, and he would climb up the marble gilded stairs, leading to the upper floor.

It should be noted, that among the men, who adventured to enter the bedroom of the most desirable woman of the time, were mainly half-hearted men, because, Maria said, that none of them had ever made it. Some men would scream with horror or fear on the bottom stair, when hearing the spiteful growl of a dog, reaching their ears from above, and would dash away at a breakneck speed. Some men would roll down with a crash, having climbed up the stairs halfway. There were two or three brave men, who could put their hand on the doorknob of the bedroom and throw themselves into the arms of that incredibly attractive woman; but at the very last moment something would stop them, and they would walk away with nothing; having depressed faces, sometimes wistfully looking back at the enticing light behind the green curtain, where they could still see the silhouette of the woman doing her evening toilets.

That evening the fortune was favorable to me. Having slightly frozen in the cold and shifting from one foot to another, I was going round the circles near a big fir tree and looking at the window of the upper floor. The light wasn’t switched on for a long time, and I already thought that the whole previous conversation with Mariya was just a joke, but soon I saw that everything was just like that attractive woman had described. The light switched on, the green curtain closed, and I could distinctly see the silhouette of the woman and her formidable dog, which hair she was tousling affectionately. I admit, my blood boiled, I lost the sense of the danger, having clearly seen myself in the situation of that son of a bitch; and my legs, which were pretty frozen, just were carrying me past the carefree boys, who were skating on the ice rink, past the Christmas tree and some small diners in the direction of that inviting light, there, where I was being waited by the gentle hands of the lonely widow.

Soon I entered that house, having opened the unlocked door with the frozen hands, and stopped on the rug. There was hot in the house, and I stood recovering from the frost for a while, blowing on my palms. The streams of the rapidly melting snow were running down me, and I eagerly, with trembling was inhaling the aroma of the familiar perfume, mixed with the smell of the dog, and thinking what to do next. There was a light in the entrance hall, and I immediately saw that ill-fated stairs, which my predecessors had climbed up, but, for one reason or another, left the desire to go further. I cautiously went into the hall and stopped near the first stair. My hand involuntarily touched the gilded railing, and I heard a muffled female moan in the period of the highest enjoyment and my name. I was very desired and called up. Having spent a long time without a woman, I involuntarily felt a strong excitement, despite the fear of the dog, potentially my opponent. It sensed me immediately, and I heard a fearsome barking, which brought me to my senses a little, I took a step back by inertia, but I was called again, saying that the dog did not bite and that it wasn't worth to be afraid.

I was hesitating. Of course, physically I lost the fight with that dog. Even if I had had a knife or a gun, I knew that such a powerful animal would have time to tear me apart, even if it mortally wounded. Even then, only a person with cold and unfeeling nerves could beat in such a situation. I wasn't like that. I just wanted the warmth and, even more likely, just to have an opportunity to get to know Mariya better.

I went up on the second stair again, despite the furious growl of Waldemar. At that moment the door upstairs opened and I saw Mariya's lovely white hand, which was throwing her Burgundy bra in my direction. He fell in the middle of the stairs, and I ventured to overcome those stairs of fear. At least, I hoped that if the hostess let her dog loose on me, I would still have time to run downstairs and close the door behind me, before the sharp teeth of the beast bit into my hot flesh.

The bra madly smelt of sweet, almost heady and intoxicating aromas of that strange woman. I was dizzy; I began to beg her to stop that stupid game, to fasten or to calm her dog, promising to love her as I had not loved anyone before. I was really prepared for many things. In response, I heard her barely perceptible laughter, turning into a groan of voluptuousness, and even Waldemar's barking was unable to sober me up, and I took a decision. Sink or swim! At least I’d lived a good life, I’d known a lot of adventures, I’d risked, in some cities I was waited and loved by the lonely, like me, unfamiliar women, and, in general, luck had never left me. No risk, no fun. As if on purpose, I heard the cork pop out the open bottle. And the clink of the glass from the contact with the bottleneck was more and more increasing my desire to get there up that magical stairs.

I took two, three steps, still hesitating and realizing that in case Waldemar jumped out, I wouldn't not have time to go downstairs, and, at the same time, hoping for the best. Yes, then I completely realized Maria's power over me. My life was in her hands. The door upstairs opened again, and I stood motionless, closing my eyes from the inevitability. Isn’t she letting her dog loose on me? But in the light I saw her snow-white hand with lace panties from the lightest silk, and in that instant I felt their gentle touch on my face. There were two stairs left, but that Waldemar was a real devil. He barked unrestrainedly and fiercely, and I assure you, my dear reader, that even a courageous person could lose his nerve from that barking, sounding almost next to his very ear. And I lost it, I rushed down, but, apparently, the magic stairs didn't let me go away. I lost the landmark, because my eyes were covered with the exquisite silk for a moment, and I mixed up the movement down with the movement up. The first thing I felt was a hit of my forehead on the door of the bedroom. The hit was so strong that the door was battered inward, and for some time I looked with stunned eyes, looking back and not understanding, why I was there upstairs and not in the street, running with the shame of defeat.

The second thing I saw was Mariya's admiring gaze. She was lying naked on her back, caressing herself with her beautiful slender fingers. Her body, covered with perfumes and oils, was wriggling from her own caresses.

“You’ve done it, honey”, - she whispered, by taking with one hand a full glass of champagne and offering it to me.

I completely forgot about Waldemar, and he was already licking my hands and snatching away, playing with razor-sharp teeth, what was squeezed in them - the underwear of his beloved hostess.

I gave it to him without any hesitation, on the go getting rid of my nonsensical clothes, drinking incredibly delicious champagne and hungrily clinging with my lips to the hot flesh of that insanely beautiful and lonely woman.

Oh, how we loved each other! I only remember the salute outside the window, the distant and the rapturous cheers of the crowd and the quiet sniffs of Waldemar, having nestled at our feet and paying no attention to the noise from the street and our restless moans.

Maria, do you remember?