Hedgehog s adventures

Винера Табаева 2
1. A little girl went home from school. Her school was nearby. Suddenly she saw something that seemed to be a hedgehog who was sitting at the road. She approached and realized it was really a Hedgehog. He was so interesting! The girl decided to bring him home. She took a packet for indoor shoes, touched a Hedgehog with a stick which she found in the grass not far from here. He 

quickly snuggled. Then she pushed him gently into the packet. The girl carried him home. She built a little house from an old wicker basket for him in the corner of the room. She put the plates for food. Poured milk in one of the plates, clean water in another and added some nuts. She let him out, he ate, drank and fall asleep. Only at night he woke and ran exploring the room. He liked there so much that he felt happy. The girl was very glad to have such a funny pet too.


Chapter 2.

What happened before.

I'm just a wild wood hedgehog. I have a big and friendly family: me, mom, dad, three brothers and a sister. I always lived in great comfort, was happy to see the sun and the moon (and to the moon I was happier). Because we, hedgehogs, see clearly at nights and have good appetite in the darkness. And in the daytime we like to sleep. But not quite me is that! Mom told me lots of times not to go out of the hole, especially in weekends, when there are a lot of people in the forest. But I never obeyed. I went to the meadow to bask in the sun. When it rained, I went out too because I liked bathing.

One day a man was passing by. I needed to hide so I hid my head and snuggled. But he had already noticed me. He took me and put me into the basket, where some mushrooms were laid. He walked on saying:

 - I will bring the hedgehog to my son to cheer him up.

So, that's how I appeared in the house where lived a little boy who began to run around me, try to play with me and feed me. And all time while I was sitting in the basket I tried to memorize the way to come back to my forest. In their huge home I escaped under a sofa and hid from everybody. I'm always brave but that time I was in a loss and was lying under the sofa for a long time until the night descended. At the night I started to run as much as I wanted. And next morning their Mom said that it had been very noisy and she hadn't been able to fall asleep and she had been afraid to get up not to step on me. Dad and son put me back into the basket and brought to the nature but not to the place where they took me from. They brought me to the park. The boy cried and didn't want to let me go. His father settled him down:

- You know how good he will feel here, and in our house he will feel bad. He likes the trees, grass, sky. We will visit him and give him tasty food.

-Oh, sure, -I thought. - If you're so clever, why did you take me from the forest? And then, you should have brought me to the place where you had taken me from.

But I didn't say it out loud. They left and I stayed not knowing what to do.


Chapter 3.

What happened then.

My parents taught me not to give up, to be able to build a hole, working with my paws, to be guided by the stars. At night I will try to find my native forest by the stars and smells. I can also excellently snort and sniff 

threatening to frighten unwanted guests. But I am good tempered so I do this very rare.

Evening shut in. Having found some food, I ate and began to wait for the stars to appear. Instead of this I saw three boys who noticed me. They started discussing my presence, pushed me and tried to take at hands. Then I snorted and sniffed

threatening to frighten them. Don't know what saved me. Maybe their mom, calling them home, did. I heard her said to them no when they asked to take me with them. They got in the car and left.

Lanterns of the parks and streets got lighted. I saw hundreds of lanterns and the city seemed very beautiful to me, even more beautiful than the forest. The lanterns were bigger than the stars and headlights of cars, passing by, were similar to flying comets. How beautiful it was!  And it smelled good because there was a cafe near the park where something magical was baked, I have never felt such smell. I raised my nose higher and went to the smell. I was already not far from the cafe when suddenly a Puppy came up to me and began to bark. From behind the door a girl threw, obviously, sausage to the Puppy. He came closer and wanted to eat it. But I overtook him, having come faster. I was starving too. And I began to  snort and sniff  threatening and all my needles stood on end. The Puppy escaped and I had supper quietly and fell asleep under linden roots, sticking out of the ground.


Chapter 4. 

And then...

I was so exhausted that got up only late in the morning. It was summer, August, enough time before winter sleep. I needed to make a hole, eat more to put on some weight to be able to survive the winter. I began to explore the park. I found a lot of apple-trees, ate apples which were on the ground. And decided that I didn't need to find my forest in that very moment, it's pretty good in the park too. So all day I had been building my hole all day long under a sprawling lilac brush. I chose a place properly, how my father had taught me. I made a skew in front of the entrance in order not to let the water pour into my little home. I made an entrance on the southern side to let the sun shine and heat my home. My hole got very comfortable, I fell asleep there. That way I lived day after day. One day I met a homeless cat. She was such a beauty which is difficult to find in the forest. Her hair was three-color: white, black and golden. Her name was Murka. And her eyes were so expressive that I don't even try to describe them, I have a poor vocabulary. I promised her to build a hole more than mine and she showed me where to find good meal. Our park was abandoned and neglected. It was quiet and calm here. I and Murka were awake at nights, slept in the daytime and talked a lot.

Chapter 5.

Murka's story.

Murka told me that she lived in a big and nice house where a lot of expensive carpets covered the floor. A kind old lady was gentle to the cat and fed her well. This woman often stroked Murka and even talked to her. Once the old lady began to pack. Then her son came and took her with him. She told Murka she would be back soon. But only her son came back. He locked the house, having left the cat in the street and hurried away. The cat was waiting for a long time but doors and windows were closed, she realized that there was no use in waiting and went to the park.

I liked this cat, she moved so gracefully, proudly and smoothly but could also do lightning fast movements. She could be sitting without any motions and looking at one corner. In such moments she reminded a glorious statue. I thought why am I not so beautiful and noble as she? We lived happily till September. Our tastes and habits matched, can we wish something better?


Chapter 6.

A young gardener.

But on the first of September a young gardener was taken to the work. He came to the park early morning, began to sweep the roads, tip the bushes and mow grass to make the park comfortable for people but uncomfortable for us. He was a kind worker, he cleaned the park where more and more people came. They were sitting on benches and walking on the roads.

And Hedgehog and Cat's peace was disturbed. Autumn was coming, then winter was. That time I should have worried about both of us.

-My friend, Cat,-I said one day. - There's a school nearby. I can come closer to the school and you, please, follow me at some distance. When the lessons are over, somebody should notice me and take home. Children always want to get me home. Then you, please, look, which house I will be taken to. Then walk around the house. And if a child is kind enough to take you too, you'll live in a warm home under the roof. I have thought a lot and I decided that children are our future.


Everything happened just like that. One girl took me home. And next day she took Murka. Her dad and mom are very kind too, they allowed their daughter to take us and helped to take care ofus. What a happiness! That was the first part of my adventures. 

Now I'm so relieved that I can fall asleep for the winter because I know that beautiful Murka will live in safety. She has thanked me hundred times for her salvation and called me Hedgehog-lifesaver. Loud name but I like it. And, I'm sorry, nature begins to tell on me, I'm so sleepy. I'll come to my little wicker house and take a nap for not a long time, just till spring.

Chapter 7.

Cat.

I'm the cat, Murka. Since I was a kitten I've been raised by an old lady. I loved that missis. But you probably do know, kind Hedgehog-lifesaver had told you my story. Thanks for him, I live in a warm home now and a girl plays with me. This. kind and pretty girl goes to school. Sometimes she reads me books, I understand a lot from the books. She takes care of me, bathe, feed me and even made a bed that fit s me. There is a little pillow and a blanket. Sometimes I run with the girl around the room and sometimes -  along the street, playing. The girl bought me a little ball, she  throws it up and I catch it. Oh, I forgot to tell you that she has a very unusual name, her name is Kate. When she's at school, I wait for her and miss her. I sit on the windowsill and look if she comes. I tried to go to school with her many times but she locked me and told to stay home. I always think what good can I do for Kate to thank her. But Hedgehog-lifesaver fell asleep,  he would quickly come up with an idea, and I can't make up anything.

Christmas will come soon. I do know hollidays well because the old lady I lived with always celebrated them. 

I pondered. I tried to be so obeying with the girl, did everything she asked.

Once at night I was laying on my bed when I heard two old rats talking.

- This house is just our cup of tea, - said the first.

- Yes, I heard it's warm and there's much food.

- People are kind here, they're not going to poison us.

- Yeah, lets get there through the floor.

Rustle sounded and I was ready for a jump. And when one of them appeared, I jumped and caught her with my paw. She got frightened, didn't expect to see me.

- Don't you dare, - I said, - come to the house any more! Don't you dare even walk around.

-Yes, yes, sure, I'm sorry, - squeaked the Rat. - Please, just let me go, I promise that nobody from my relatives will ever come here.

- Ok, - I said.

And let her go. She disappeared very fast. I didn't hear their voices any more.

Chapter 8.

Christmas.

One day Christmas came. Kate combed me and tied a piece of ribbon around my neck into a knot. All members of their family smiled and congratulated each other. Though I'm a cat I was glad to see them happy. 

-What a pity that Hedgehog is sleeping, - the girl said.

I thought the same.

-Whatever, I have presents for you, - said Kate. She took two packages in golden gift wrapping.

One she put near Hedgehog's basket and another gave me. Then she opened it herself, there was a new ball for me. She poured cream in my saucer, so yummy!

At night, obviously because of warmth and tasty smells Hedgehog-lifesaver woke up. I was so happy. We began to open his gift together, it took us lots of time but when we opened it we saw a new set of plates for Hedgehog and his favourite dry feed. We talked much and Hedgehog, (how clever he is) taught me how to make a gift for Kate. He binded a little bag to my back. Advised to go out through the hole in the floor behind the wardrobe. He asked me to go to the park and ask Squirrel for some nuts and nice pine-cones in exchange for some sweets. He put some sweets in the bag. They always laid on the table and nobody ate them. I managed to throw them down. Then I did everything as we were going to.

In the morning nuts and  pine-cones were laying on the nightstand. Kate got up, saw this and glowed with happiness. Merry Christmas!

And Hedgehog was already sleeping tight, he fell asleep early in the morning.


Chapter 9.

The girl Kate.

I like all the animals: and butterflies, and dragonflies, and flies, and birds, and even snakes, absolutelyall. So one day I brought a Hedgehog and next day - a Cat. I would bring home both birds and beatles but my parents said:

- You should know that the beatles will be eaten by the birds, and the birds will be eaten by cats.

So I thought, well, I have a hedgehog and a cat, that's great.

After Christmas I and Murka celebrated New Year. I sewed her four little socks and clothed on her paws. My cat is so smart, she understands everything and always obeys me. Then winter holidays began, then schooling again. And Hedgehog was still sleeping. I played with my cat every day, I read her books and did my homework with her. One evening we was painting (well, of course, I was, and she was sitting nearby and watching). Then I went to bed, not having put the album, paints and pencils. I clearly remember that in the opened album my painting was on the one page, and another one was clean. Next morning I saw a note on the clean page, crooked but readable: "Hedgehog-lifesaver and Cat Murka."

I got immediately - it's been written by the Cat!!! I was sure, her name is Murka! I told my parents but nobody believed me. I guessed by their faces, that even when they said "yes", they didn't believe me. Then I stopped persuading them. I decided to check it myself and called: "Murka!" She came to me at once and began to nuzzle against my boots. So she wrote her name and hedgehog's name herself. I got that they are acquaintances.

And nuts...That day mom asked where did I get them from, whether somebody of my friends gave them to me or not. So, that was, probably, my Cat a Hedgehog's gift. Things happen...

Spring came, the snow was melting and pouring with sparkling streams. My Hedgehog-lifesaver woke up, it was April.


Chapter 10.

Forest again.

When I, Hedgehog woke up, everybody was happy. They began to feed me everything they could: and nuts, and larvae, and milk, and porridge, and even cookies. Every day I got different dish. I gained strength and put on some weight. Murka went out a lot, and I stayed at home. One day Kate took me for a walk, the wind brought me familiar smells of forest. It reminded me my family, my forest house and I got very sad. In the evening I had a talk with Murka. She said she could help me. At night she jumped at the writing table and pushed down a sheet of paper and a pencil. As she asked, I held the paper, pressing it to the floor and Murka took a pencil in her fore-paws, stood on her hind paws and wrote something on the paper (what a smart cat!) Next morning Kate saw the note "Hedgehog wants to the forest". Kate took a lot of food, asked her father to help her. They put me into the basket and carried to the forest. When I was out, I saw that I knew the

way. I saw Kate left me a lot of food on the paper plate and said:

- Come to us again, whenever you want, cute Hedgehog-lifesaver.

"Oh, - I thought, - how did she know my name?" I moved a little bit away, then stopped and looked at them. They were standing all together and looking at me with love and sadness. And I understood that I love all of them so much! And Kate, and her father, and Cat Murka. I even shed a few tears because of the feelings and then ran into the forest.  But of course I knew it was not our last meeting and we will see each other. And I really know the way!


28.12.2017