The Virtuoso, fragment

Åâà Òóíèê
A WHITE TITLE APPEARS ON A BLACK SCREEN:

TITLE:
«Pigmento Fuggitivo,(Italian)
Colour Glossary:
Fugitive pigments are impermanent pigments that lighten, darken, or otherwise change in appearance or physicality over time when exposed to certain environmental conditions, such as light, temperature, humidity, or pollution.»

FADE IN:

INT. SANDRA’S LIVING ROOM – DAY

SANDRA is organizing things in her living room, some painting equipment is laid down on the floor. A white canvas on the chair. Sandra sorts oil colors in tubes. Takes a tube from the box and reads aloud the title on it.

SANDRA
– Carmine oil color. C. Aha. One star. Fugitive. No, thanks.

Skype rings on the tablet. Sandra presses the green button. Laura, Alexander’s granddaughter, appears on the screen.

SANDRA
– Ciao! Hey, how are you? My hands are busy. Guess what?! I finally decided to paint. Again!

LAURA (ON SKYPE)
(indifferently)
– How wonderful. Listen…

SANDRA
(excited)
– I feel so happy about it!

LAURA (ON SKYPE)
(tensed)
– Alexander wants to make Aliya.

SANDRA
(disbelief)
– Wow. Oh. My. God. Are you all…

LAURA (ON SKYPE)
– No. Just him…

SANDRA
(confused)
– But how… He is…

LAURA (ON SKYPE)
– I need to ask you a favor…

SANDRA
– Sure, anything… This is so exciting… I can’t believe!

LAURA (ON SKYPE)
– Um… Can he stay with you for some period…?

SANDRA
– Would you believe last week I was asking myself why I don’t have any grandfather? Someone must be listening to me!

LAURA (ON SKYPE)
(with a relief)
– You are an angel. Yea… One thing you should know… his vision is not what it used to be.

SANDRA
– Oh… When is he coming?

LAURA (ON SKYPE)
– Tomorrow.

Hang-up sound. Sandra puts down the tablet and looks around the artistic mess in her living room, confused.

INT. SANDRA’S APARTMENT ENTRANCE – DAY

Shady lobby. A ray of bright daylight illuminates the suitcase near the closed entrance door. On the top of the suitcase - a cowboy hat. A postcard depicting The Eiffel Tower pinned to the mirror frame. Underneath some more handwritten postcards. Distant dialogue becomes audible.

ALEXANDER’S VOICE FROM THE ROOM
– I have two grand in euros. Cash. That’s the story for now.

SANDRA’S VOICE FROM THE ROOM
(shouts)
– What do you mean “All my money is gone”? Gone? But how? What about all your real estate?

ALEXANDER’S VOICE FROM THE ROOM
– As I said. It’s all gone.
SANDRA’S VOICE FROM THE ROOM
What do you mean “They want to arrest you”? So you came here?! To my house? And why you never told me you were in american prison for seven years? Seven bloody years!

INT. SANDRA’S LIVING ROOM – DAY

– The living room is all organized now. Sandra sits on the floor. She is holding her head with her hands. ALEXANDER stands in the middle of the living room. He keeps his overcoat in his hands.

ALEXANDER
– I need to find a new occupation now. I was thinking about a motivational speaker. Are they popular here, in Israel?

SANDRA
– What about your grandkids’ college funds?

ALEXANDER
– Laura didn’t want to go to the college so I didn’t make any college fund. And Jonathan’s college is free.

SANDRA
– Free? There is no such thing as a free college! College funds are not about colleges! They are about money.

ALEXANDER
– I’m not going back. I will be arrested. And in my age prison means only one thing. Death.

SANDRA
– And what about your wife?!

ALEXANDER
– She will manage. I left her few apartments. What do you make of me as a motivational speaker, huh?