The Simple Short Stories - Harmonious Feelings

Àëåêñàíäð Øóòîâ 3
Aleksandr  Shutoff




HARMONIOUS  FEELINGS 

 
THE   SIMPLE  SHORT   STORIES


New York – New Jersey – Florida
2009

©2009 /  Shutoff 





List:

Day of my “Thanks…”
Story of one day

On borders of cooking
Story of one party

Trip & Talisman
Story of one letter

Harmonious feelings
Story one feeling

What are all beginning
Story of my writing




present first Story:

Day of my “Thanks…”
Story of one day

The last decade of November I have been finished my business job in Amsterdam. Afternoon I back to hotel collect my  things and went to airport  fly to New York city. Nice Fall weather in Holland drawing  pictures  of yellow, red and brown colors of trees leaves mixed with black, white cars on the streets and free walking  people among old houses in Amsterdam. I back to home in New Jersey and say Good Buy  “grandmam`s”   Europe.

Taxi came in time in Airport and I have checked my fly ticket and went, looking for number gate of my fly.  I took attention on old lady with young boy, which stopped close each booths and shops, and with great interest observe and discussing all they saw. There are a lot of places in airport take possibility each travelers found all they need during the trip. Expression and feelings on each questions of young boy, got very short and clear reply from old lady.

 Her voice was magically nice and young boy laughed and jumped to the next place. When young boy running to food service “Fried Chicken” and said:
– “Please, let`s buy me Chicken”, old lady say him, – “No, it`s not good for you, my dear. Wait five hours, and you will celebrate great event with your family – Thanksgiving Day”.

After this word I don`t listen any more. I understood, I forgot about great American Day.  Four weeks in Holland took off my attention about forthcoming holiday seasons.

 I reminded the holiday season is beginning, and for many of my natives and friends, the season includes the American Thanksgiving celebration.  This is a lovely holiday, and I can easily understand why so many enjoy it.  Now 29th November, signed in my brain, I looking my fly ticket and saw this date. Oh, my God! I stopped close the booth, and song of Scorpios “Here I`m” return me in really. Long ways of Amsterdam’s airport got me to gate of my fly.

So wonderful, young boy and old lady were in way to the same gate. And what can be more wonder, they seating close me, at middle  the seats of plane. Young boy – six years old named Nick, old lady – his grand mother – name Ann, were from New York city, and back home from visiting Nick’s father, who work in the big ship company, Rotterdam.

Time is passing, and soon we talking about expression of  Holland, people, culture and time spending by busy. Snacks and drinks were fine, and Nick asked about forthcoming evening party.

Ann asked me:  – how you `ll be celebrate this one.
– Oh, sorry me, I`m absolutely  forgot about it, – I said. – I`ll find time and try to buy something for my family.

Don’t worry: – said Ann,–“Please, take this book. It’s story about how Thanksgiving originated as a celebration. Let’s face, dear Mr. Alex, what could be better than partaking in a feast with friends and family. I have always liked the story of how Thanksgiving originated as a celebration after the Pilgrims survived a tough winter with the help of the local Native American tribe. However, I recently learned of a slightly different story that I'd like to share. If you not object, I tell you about this story, – said Ann.
– O’k,  I raise no objection, – I said.

Ann continuing:
– “This new story was recorded by the Pilgrim governor in 1623, William Bradford, in his book “Of Plymouth Plantation”.  In this journal, Governor Bradford describes how the original Pilgrim settlement was designed to be a communal project with the land being owned by the community and all harvested goods shared equally.  However, apparently, the men didn't feel motivated to work and share with the group.  As a result the harvests were poor, and by 1623 the situation was becoming dire.  Knowing that something had to be done, the colonists held a meeting and convinced the governor that, while the land must remain the common holding of the community, each family should have a parcel of it upon which to plant and grow crops that they would be allowed to keep…

– As the story goes, the governor agreed to this plan and the Pilgrims threw themselves into working their individual allotments and crops began to flourish.  Unfortunately, a summer drought threatened their first harvest, and the Pilgrims gathered and held a "Day of Humiliation" and prayer…   

– Shortly afterwards, the drought broke, the rains came, and the crops were saved.  And on November 29th, 1623 the Governor declared the very first Day of Thanksgiving to commemorate their good fortune...

– Dear Alex, I was struck by the deeper elements of gratitude and thanksgiving inherent in this story of the Pilgrim's Thanksgiving.  Not only did the Pilgrims have reason to be grateful for a bountiful harvest, but also for the ability to fully enjoy the fruits of their own labors.  This attitude of gratitude, a sense of pride in work well done, and the pleasure of enjoying what one produces for oneself are all important aspects of what I would call "the American Dream."…

– Dear Alex, may those of us who will sit down to a Thanksgiving meal this evening, take a moment to give thanks for all of the good things in our lives as well as the abundance we enjoy…

Nick was sleeping. Ann looking on me with face of great kindness.  She wasn’t be an old lady. Her soul   generated rays energy of love. I have felt, how much in my life coming somewhere past of me.

Business, planes, cars, phone and work – we are all in motion of fortune. Our homes, families and natives are the part of common total. We don’t feeling, in our each day busy, responsibility for results of our harvest. Our prayers became formal words, and we want to receive bright day and hope on “Good time” from Alan Jackson’s song, 

Plane landed in JFK in time, 6 p.m. We were going out from plane, crossing line of border, Ann and Nick were close to me. My new friends were wonderful team. I back to my home in New Jersey with feeling of fine story about Thanksgiving Day.

Ann looking on me and said: 
– “I wish you good party. Buy prepared turkey, wine, make your evening fine. Don’t forget call friends and daughter”.  She saw all about me. I felt it. She was wonderful lady. I looked by way she gone to taxi. They stopped close taxi and wave me by hands. I reaped her words by myself – call it wave like an “American Dream” – “United we stronger”.

29 November was the nice day in my life. I got home in time, done all me saying Ann, and said “Thanks” this DAY…


Amsterdam – New York  \  2004
©   Shutoff  /  2009