Сонет 2

Александр Рюсс 2
Sonnet II

TIME does not bring relief; you all have lied
 Who told me time would ease me of my pain!
 I miss him in the weeping of the rain;
 I want him at the shrinking of the tide;
The old snows melt from every mountain-side,         
And last year's leaves are smoke in every lane;
 But last year's bitter loving must remain
Heaped on my heart, and my old thoughts abide!

There are a hundred places where I fear
 To go,--so with his memory they brim!         
And entering with relief some quiet place
Where never fell his foot or shone his face

I say, "There is no memory of him here!"
And so stand stricken, so remembering him!

               СОНЕТ 2

Мне  лгут  твердя  что  время  лечит  боль;
В  слезах  дождя  летит  она,  бурлит,
Нет  силы  той  что  сердце  исцелит,
Уймёт,  щадя,  щемящее  дотоль.

Ручьями  снег  стекает  с  высоты,
Опалый  лист  крадётся  шелестя,
Но  в  памяти  бессонной  только  ты
Царишь,  как  встарь,  терзаешь  не  шутя.

Есть  сотни  мест  где  я  бывала  с  ним…
Их  обойду  чтоб  боль  не  бередИть.
Но  зря  стараюсь  память   оградить,
Ступая  по  тропинкам  обходным.

-«Здесь  не  была…»
                И  фразу  оборву,
На  миг  Его  представив  наяву.