Сонет 42

Александр Рюсс 2
Сонет XLII

What lips my lips have kissed, and where, and why,
I have forgotten, and what arms have lain
Under my head till morning; but the rain
Is full of ghosts tonight, that tap and sigh
Upon the glass and listen for reply,
And in my heart there stirs a quiet pain
For unremembered lads that not again
Will turn to me at midnight with a cry.
Thus in winter stands the lonely tree,
Nor knows what birds have vanished one by one,
Yet knows its boughs more silent than before:
I cannot say what loves have come and gone,
I only know that summer sang in me
A little while, that in me sings no more.

СОНЕТ  42.

Забыть  бы,  как  я  целовала
Те  губы,  ту  упругость  тел…
В  мой  сон  из  памяти  провала
Дождь  приведений  залетел.

Спешат,  вползая  ручейками,
Чтоб  целовать  меня,  любить,
Тревожат  память  узелками,
Которые  не  истребить.

Как  лес  в  объятьях  зимней  стужи
Не  помнит  щебет  птицерья,
Опав  листвою,
                так  и  я
Бегу  от  призраков  снаружи.

Ни  слепень  гроз,  ни  рай,  ни  ад
Весенних  грёз  не  воскресят.