Just looking at fire

Юрий Лазирко
Translation of  Валентин Лученко http://www.proza.ru/2014/05/28/901

Just looking at fire

I’m just looking at fire, the little smoky fire on a shore. What a night and nigritude.  Somewhere a fish makes its over-sudden jumps. Beavers romp. I know for sure that an otter swims silently. A marten makes no rustling sound and hedgehogs are playing near a shillyshally game. Blue flames are playful as well, logs crackle. The magic of flame near water…
And I can’t sleep that night, oh I cannot sleep. I scan the sky where stars like salt spilled over the beaten path out of a chumak cart. I warm myself with fire. I feed it with firewood. Snuffing the night I embrace her with my whole body. I stop the flow of thoughts and start soaring above the white world, above the Earth, the Sun, over its pilgrims and defenders.
Farewell! If the LORD permits, I’ll be back in the morning...

Про100 дивлюсь на вогонь

Просто. Дивлюсь на вогонь. Маленьке таке курище на березі. Темінь. Ніч.
Ніби з нічев'я скидається риба. Вовтузяться бобри. Знаю напевне безшумно
пливе видра. Не шарудить куниця і тупцяють поблизу їжаки. Граються вогники
сині, потріскують поліниці. Чари полум'я поблизу води.

І не спиться мені котру ніч, ой не спиться. Зорю небо, де зір, як солі, що
насипалася на шлях битий з чумакового возу. Гріюсь вогнищем. Підкидаю
дрівець в багаття. Нюшу ніч, обнімаю її усім тілом. Плин думок зупиняю і
злітаю над світом білим, над Землею, над її Сонцем, над ятранцями,
оборонцями.

Прощавайте! Дасть Господь, повернуся вранці...