205

Александр Рюсс 2
                ***
I should not dare to leave my friend,
     Because -- because if he should die
     While I was gone -- and I -- too late --
     Should reach the Heart that wanted me --

     If I should disappoint the eyes
     That hunted -- hunted so -- to see --
     And could not bear to shut until
     They "noticed" me -- they noticed me --

     If I should stab the patient faith
     So sure I'd come -- so sure I'd come --
     It listening -- listening -- went to sleep --
     Telling my tardy name --

     My Heart would wish it broke before --
     Since breaking then -- since breaking then --
     Were useless as next morning's sun --
     Where midnight frosts -- had lain!

205
Не  смею  прежде  умереть
Чем  друг  глаза  закроет,
Я  знаю,  тягостная  весть
Его  обеспокоит.

Он  будет  ждать, я  не  приду,
Окликнет — не  услышу,
С  ним  разделить  его  беду
Не  даст  мне  воля  свыше.

Он  будет  имя  повторять
Моё  в  жару  недуга...
Могу  ль  я  разочаровать
В  святой  надежде  друга?

Желая  горечь  обуздать
Друг  связи  рвёт  меж  нами,
Дабы  тепла  не  ожидать
От  спящей  подо  льдами.