A Mysterious Journey

Шевцова Татьяна Николаевна
I came home tired. And realized that today was just another routine day of my silly life.
For as long as I can remember I had a good fantasy. When I was eight, I lived with the idea that there were many other worlds around us. I knew there was a world under my bed, and another one in the wardrobe, and also under the floor, behind the TV set, inside of the car's trunk and of the cat's house, behind the painting on the wall and even in the bathtub drain hole. All of those worlds were densely populated, as I thought. Unfortunately, I couldn't see it personally because those worlds existed in parallel reality, so I obviously needed some way to get there. I hoped when I'd grow older I'd find the way to other world.
While I was growing this hope was fading away every day. But I cherished it anyway. There was still something left of it when I entered college, but now I feel like it's the very end of my childish dreams and hopes. Welcome to the real life, you, dreamer! In this boring life your day consists of college lectures, communication with people who never understand you and laugh at your fantastic ideas, walks in the places you've seen for about a thousand times because many of them actually look the same and hateful part-time job as a call manager. "Hello, Mr. Brown. You've been a client of our bank for already twenty years. We appreciate your loyalty and would love to thank you for that. We've developed a new highly advantageous credit program, and we can hardly wait for you to enroll in this program! As our long-term client you'll be provided with a new credit card associated with this program in two days and absolutely free! Are you still there, Mr. Brown?" Annoying. At least I wasn't the only one who was annoyed. Mr. Brown was annoyed by my call, too. And he explained me in detail why he wished all call managers went to hell.
Maybe, I'm just too tired. It was a nervous day. Taking a hot shower will make me feel somewhat better.
I went to the bathroom, put off my clothes and stood under the shower. As soon as hot water flew down on me, I closed my eyes and imagined myself being so far from here that even thoughts about my dull life wouldn't reach me. I imagined the feeling of freedom and pleasure so clearly, that I didn't want to open my eyes.
Suddenly I realized I didn't feel any water falling on me. Please, no, it can't be happening today! I opened my eyes and didn't believe the picture I saw. Everything was white. Not simply white; it was such a deep, milky white color. I waved my hands hoping to touch the wall, but there wasn't any wall. There was nothing around me, but for whiteness. "This is weird," I whispered to myself. I tried to touch the white air around me and observed it was slowly clearing away. I smiled for I realized I got in a dense white fog. I looked down; the fog there was thinner, and I saw violet grass under my feet. At this moment I stood paralyzed: I had no clothes on my body. It was reasoned as I was in shower just a few seconds ago. To my happiness, I noticed something similar to cloth on the ground. I took it. It was a dark blue dress. Without thinking I put it on myself. The dress was too big for me, but I felt it was getting smaller until it perfectly fitted my size.
Meanwhile, the fog became more dispersed, and I could see the sky. It was scarlet and very close to me; I thought I could touch it with my hand, but I failed. The sky was higher than it seemed to be. I looked around again and spotted something not white in this fog. I went towards that thing. It was a flower. It was almost the same height as me; its petals were long and transparent, and its stalk was thick and nacreous. I wanted to touch it, but the flower rapidly divided in two parts, and both of them ran away. I was deeply surprised and finally realized I wasn't in my world anymore.
As I went further I discovered a plant of such flowers. And all of them divided and ran away as soon as I approached the plant. When the flowers cleared away from this place I noticed a green house standing by itself in the field. I went to the house; it was made of green stones and was smaller than a normal building. I found the door with my second try as it was even smaller. I wasn't sure whether I was allowed to open this door, so I knocked. There was no answer, but the house and the door got bigger, well, they got big enough to match my height and let me in. I opened the door and came inside.
There was a round room with red walls filled with pale orange air; it looked like someone here had just smoked oranges and tangerines. I also saw there a table, a cupboard and a high chair standing in such a way that I could observe only its back side. It seemed the chair was occupied by someone. Carefully I stepped to it and saw a little violet man sitting in the chair with large headset on his head. It obviously wasn't a child because he had a long light green beard. As I got he was listening to music with his eyes shut and didn't know I came in. I stood right in front of him and said, "Hello!"
The man shuddered, quickly opened his eyes and put off the headset. "Hello!" he said.
He stared at me for a while, and then said, "I should've supposed you'll come. I just didn't think the machine will ever work again."
I was shocked. "Were you expecting me? Did you bring me here? And where am I?"
"Don't worry, I'll explain."
He jumped down off his chair and pulled another chair from the back of the cupboard. "Please, have a seat."
I sat down. He got back to his chair and introduced himself, "My name is Layster. And this is my house as well as the plant of vegetables that you might have seen when you got here."
"I saw some running flowers not vegetables."
"Those ones aren't flowers. I'll show you them later if you want. So, I didn't hear what's your name?"
"It's Joanna."
"Ok, Joanna, you're not in your world right now."
"Yeah, I noticed." That was a light sarcasm.
Layster didn't pay attention to it and continued, "This land, my homeland, is called Mysteria. It is located in parallel to your world, and that's why they could never intersect. But I have created the machine which can make the bridge between our two worlds. However, when I turned it on I came across with a problem. The bridge is being built of fantasies which Mysteria is full of, but it actually should be built from both sides; it wasn't easy to find enough fantasies in your world. I understood it only after fifteenth failure. But I kept on trying, and a success came to me. My first visitor was too scared and didn't even realize he wasn't on the Earth; he thought it was someone's joke. He left Mysteria immediately not knowing that his fantasies let him build the bridge from the Earth and get here. The second one was smarter. He gave me this amazing stuff; I don't remember the name for it."
"iPod," I smiled.
"Unfortunately, he promised to come again, but didn't."
"I'm sorry to hear that."
"It turns out you are my third visitor. I should give you something I have given to previous guests from your world."
Layster jumped down the floor and ran somewhere. He was absent for a couple of minutes and returned with a gorgeous black bracelet in his hands. Layster gave it to me; I had to bend a little to reach his hand. "Oh, it's such a beautiful gift! Thank you!"
I wanted to put the bracelet on my wrist, but Layster stopped me. "This isn't a simple bracelet. I call it "a fantasy treasure". Any time you wish to make a bridge and get to Mysteria you can do it by switching the hand that wears the bracelet. If the bracelet is on your right hand, you just put it on the left one, and vice versa. This is how you get here whenever you want."
"I got it."
"Now you should probably go home and decide whether you want Mysteria to become a part of your life or not. There are a lot of things to explore."
"I feel like I already want to explore them."
"Then come back tomorrow. My machine isn't perfect yet; the bridge doesn't last for long. If you wanna get home safe you should put on a bracelet right now."
"Alright. See you tomorrow, Layster!"
I put a bracelet on my right hand.
I opened my eyes. My hair was wet as well as my body. I was taking shower in my bathroom. I couldn't realize what had just happened to me. Everything was like in a dream. Maybe, I fell asleep while taking shower? I washed my face, and noticed the black bracelet on my right hand. It wasn't a dream! It was all true! Mysteria does exist!
I was so happy that I almost forgot to wash my hair with shampoo. I did it, and then I hurried up to dry myself with a towel. I have some homework to do in advance because I have plans for tomorrow evening. I am definitely going to other world!

August 19 2015