The elephant and the pug

Алекс Дайхес
THE ELEPHANT AND THE PUG

(Fable)

One sunny day a circus came to town,
Parading manful acrobats, a mystical magician,
A silent mime, deft jugglers, deafening musicians,
And in addition
A motley clown
Rode an Elephant, adorned with a crown.

All townsmen along the street,
Sparing no breath or feet,
Accompanied the jumbo down.

It is no wonder, since not one of them before
Had ever seen such giant on display,
So they were cautious, careful and therefore
Remained prudently away.

All of a sudden a pitiable Pug
Fiercely pounced on the giant's feet,
Barking and yelping in a vicious attack,
Intrepid and majestic in the feat.

His neighbor Poodle exhorted, "O, my dear,
Stop being a laughingstock. It's very clear
While you've got hoarse
And lost your muscles' force,
The fellow calmly walks ahead
Paying no heed to the relentless threat
Of yours
And even worse:
In spite of your persistence
Ignores the very your existence.”

“My foolish Poodle, this нs my very goal:
Without fear to disgrace myself or fall,
I sternly play this phony brawl.

Thus getting into a fight,
Where the risk is zero,
Without a one bite,
I will be reputed as an unrivaled hero.”

Although many beasts are in the fable,
Walk in, my reader, there is no ban,
And under every guise be able
To find man.